Australian Shadows Awards 2017 Finalists

On May 9 the Australasian Horror Writers Association announced the shortlists for the Australian Shadows Awards 2017.

The juried award is given in seven categories for work by an Australasian author that has horror/dark fiction content either as a focal point or an integral element of the work, and the intent of the work must be to disturb or inspire fear in the reader. Eligible genres/sub-genres include horror, dark fiction, dark fantasy, and paranormal fiction.

The finalists were selected by judging panels from 183 submitted works. Winners will be announced on June 9 at Continuum XIV: Conjugation.

The Rocky Wood Award for Non-Fiction and Criticism

  • 101 Weird Writers #46 – Ry?nosuke Akutagawa, Kat Clay. (Weird Fiction Review)
  • Literary Serial Killer Fiction: The Evolution of a Genre, William Cook. (Victoria University, Wellington NZ)
  • The Body Horror Book, Claire Fitzpatrick. (Oscillate Wildly Press)
  • It Follows is the Millennial STD Parable of Our Time, Maria Lewis. (SBS)
  • A Shared Ambition: Horror Writers in Horror Fiction, Kyla Lee Ward. (AHWA, Midnight Echo #12)

Best Written Work in a Comic/Graphic Novel

No Award.

Best Edited Work

  • Midnight Echo #12, Shane Jiraiya Cummings & Anthony P Ferguson. (AHWA)
  • Below the Stairs – Tales from the Cellar, Steven Dillon. (Things in the Well)
  • Cthulhu Deep Down Under Volume 1, Steve Proposch, Christopher Sequeira & Bryce Stevens. (IFWG Publishing)

Best Collected Work

  • Singing My Sister Down and Other Stories, Margo Lanagan. (Allen & Unwin)
  • Perfect Little Stitches and Other Stories, Deborah Sheldon. (IFWG Publishing)

Short Fiction

  • Outside a Drifter, Lisa L. Hannett. (Looming Low Vol.1, Dim Shores Press)
  • The Hand Walker, Rue Karney. (Pacific Monsters, Fox Spirit Press)
  • The Circle Line, Martin Livings. (Between the Tracks, Things in the Well)
  • The Banksia Boys, Matthew J Morrison. (Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine #66)
  • The Little Mermaid, in Passing, Angela Slatter. (The Review of Australian Fiction, April 2017)
  • The Big Reveal, David Stevens. (Kaleidotrope)

The Paul Haines Award for Long Fiction

  • Ismail’s Expulsion, Brian Craddock. (Between the Tracks, Things in the Well)
  • Hope and Walker, Andrew Cull. (Vermillion2One)
  • This Impossible Gift, Matthew R Davis. (Midnight Echo #12, AHWA)
  • No Good Deed, Angela Slatter. (New Fears, Titan Books)
  • Furtherest, Kaaron Warren. (Dark Screams Vol.7, Cemetery Dance)
  • Eden in the End, Ashlee Scheuerman. (Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing)

Best Novel

  • Aletheia, J.S. Breukelaar. (Crystal Lake Publishing)
  • Slithers, W.W. Mortensen. (Self Published)
  • Soon, Lois Murphy. (Transit Lounge)
  • Corpselight (Verity Fassbinder Book 2), Angela Slatter. (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Providence Place, Matthew Tait. (Dark Crib Publications)

2016 Australian Shadows Awards

The 2016 Australian Shadows Awards winners were announced by the Australian Horror Writers Asssociation on March 29.

The awards honor “the best published works of horror fiction written or edited by an Australian/New Zealand/Oceania resident in the previous calendar year.” Judges determine the shortlists and winners in each category. (The Shadows Awards judges were not listed on the AHWA website.)

BEST SHORT FICTION (Up to 7,500 words)


BEST COLLECTED WORKS (3 or more short stories by a single author)

  • CROW SHINE by ALAN BAXTER (Ticonderoga Publications)

BEST EDITED WORK (3 or more short stories by two (2) or more authors; edited by one or more editors)

  • DEAD OF NIGHT Edited by SHANE JIRAIYA CUMMINGS (Published by the AHWA)

BEST NOVEL (At least 40,000 words)

  • THE GRIEF HOLE by KAARON WARREN (IFWG Publishing Australia)

PAUL HAINES AWARD FOR LONG FICTION (Between 7,501 to 39,999 words)

  • TIPUNA TAPU by DAN RABARTS (Clan Destine Press)

Due to insufficient entries, the 2016 awards dropped the Comics/Graphic Novels category and The Rocky Wood Award for Non-Fiction and Criticism.

Today, July 10, the Australasian Horror Writers Association (‘AHWA’) announced plans to add a brand new category to the Australian Shadows Awards:

The award, simply known as the President’s Award, will be an open category where members of the Australasian Horror Writers Association (‘AHWA’) will be able to nominate a member who has not only gone out of their way to promote their work, but assisted with the horror genre in general, as well as enhanced the public perception, reputation and awareness of the Australasian Horror Writers Association in general.

All nominations will be assessed by the AHWA Committee who will cast a vote on the overall winner of the category.

Also, AHWA today released the winners of its 2017 Flash and Short Story Competition.


Short Story Winner:

  • “Fish” by Chrisi Reardon

Short Story Runner-Up:

  • “Byzantium” by Joshua Kemp

Flash Fiction Winner:

  • “Elizabeth” by Xanthe Knox.

Flash Fiction Runner-Up:

  • “Rambling Man: by Andrew Cull

Both the winner and runner up will receive a Certificate of Achievement in the 2017 competition. The winners will get a hand crafted trophy by Danny Wale at GoreFx.


The Flash and Short Story competition judges for 2017 were.

  • Maree Kimberley (2016 short story winner)
  • Glenn H. Mitchell (2016 flash fiction winner)
  • Deborah Sheldon (2016 short story runner-up)