2017 Ditmar Awards

The 2017 Australian SF (“Ditmar”) Awards for 2017 were presented June 11 at Continuum 13 in Melbourne.

Best Novel

  • The Grief Hole, Kaaron Warren, IFWG Publishing Australia.

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “Did We Break the End of the World?”, Tansy Rayner Roberts, in Defying Doomsday, Twelfth Planet Press.

Best Short Story

  • “No Fat Chicks”, Cat Sparks, in In Your Face, FableCroft Publishing.

Best Collected Work


  • Defying Doomsday, Tsana Dolichva and Holly Kench, Twelfth Planet Press.
  • Dreaming in the Dark, Jack Dann, PS Publishing.

Best Artwork

  • illustration, Shauna O’Meara, for Lackington’s 12.

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • 2016 Australian SF Snapshot, Greg Chapman, Tehani Croft, Tsana Dolichva, Marisol Dunham, Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Stephanie Gunn, Ju Landéesse, David McDonald, Belle McQuattie, Matthew Morrison, Alex Pierce, Rivqa Rafael, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Helen Stubbs, Katharine Stubbs and Matthew Summers.

Best Fan Writer

  • Foz Meadows, for body of work.

Best Fan Artist

[No award in category — the only nominee, Kathleen Jennings, withdrew.]

Best New Talent

  • Marlee Jane Ward

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • Kate Forsyth, for The Rebirth of Rapunzel: a mythic biography of the maiden in the tower, FableCroft Publishing.

Other Awards Presented

A. Bertram Chandler Award

  • Bill Wright, who has been in fandom for 59 years

Peter McNamara Achievement Award

  • Rose Mitchell

2015 Ditmar Award Recipients Named

The winners of the 2015 Ditmar Awards, recognizing annually the achievement in Australian science fiction, fantasy, horror and fandom, as well as several other awards were announced on April 5 during an awards ceremony at  the 2015 Australian National SF Convention, Swancon 40, in Perth.

Best Novel (tie)

  • “The Lascar’s Dagger” by Glenda Larke (Hachette)
  •  “Thief’s Magic” (Millennium’s Rule 1) by Trudi Canavan (Hachette Australia)

Best Novella or Novelette

  •  “The Legend Trap” by Sean Williams, in Kaleidoscope (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best Short Story

  •  “The Seventh Relic” by Cat Sparks, in Phantazein (FableCroft Publishing)

Best Collected Work

  • “Kaleidoscope” edited by Alisa Krasnostein and Julia Rios (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best Artwork

  • Illustrations, Kathleen Jennings, in Black-Winged Angels (Ticonderoga Publications)

Best Fan Writer

  • Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work

Best Fan Artist

  • Kathleen Jennings, for body of work, including Fakecon art and Illustration Friday series

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  •  “The Writer and the Critic” – Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond

Best New Talent

  • Helen Stubbs

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • “Does Sex Make Science Fiction Soft?” in Uncanny Magazine 1, Tansy Rayner Roberts

Other awards announced during the ceremony included:

The Peter McNamara Achievement Award

  • Merv Binns

The Norma K. Hemming Award

  • Paddy O’Reilly for The Wonders (Affirm Press, November 2014).

Honourable mention: Angela Slatter & Lisa L Hannett for The Female Factory.

The Norma K. Hemming Award is given for excellence in the exploration of race, gender, sexuality, class and disability in Australian speculative fiction

The A. Bertram Chandler Award

  • Donna Maree Hanson

The A. Bertram Chandler Award for Outstanding Achievement in Australian Science Fiction is a jury award for outstanding achievement over a goodly number of years. It was established by the Australian Science Fiction Foundation in 1992 in recognition of the contribution that best-selling author Bert Chandler made to Australian Science Fiction in the decades spanning WWII to the mid-1980s.