Kids’ Comics Award Winners

Regina Telgemeier’s Ghosts was announced as the winner of the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids’ Comics at the Ann Arbor Comics Art Festival on June 18.  The award runs in tandem with the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity and focuses on comics aimed at young readers. Here is the complete shortlist:

  • Bad Machinery Volume 6: The Case of the Unwelcome Visitor, by John Allison
  • Blip! by Barnaby Richards
  • The Cloud, by K.I. Zachopoulos and Vincenzo Bolzano
  • The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo, by Drew Weing
  • Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier
  • Goldie Vance, by Hope Larson, Britney Williams and Sarah Stern
  • Hilda and the Stone Forest, by Luke Pearson
  • Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Vol. 1: BFF, by Amy Reeder and Brandon Montclair
  • Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! Vol. 1: Hooked On A Feline, by Kate Leth, Brittney Williams and Natasha Allegri
  • Princess Princess Ever After, by Katie O’Neill.

The Ann Arbor Comics Art Festival (A2CAF) also sponsored a set of awards that kids attending the con were able to vote for via paper ballot, while the wider world was invited to vote via online form. The nominees are listed below with the winner in BOLD.


  • The King of Kazoo, by Norman Feuti
  • Tree Mail, by Mike Raicht and Brian Smith
  • Red’s Planet, by Eddie Pittman
  • The Great Pet Escape, by Victoria Jamieson
  • Night Air, by Ben Sears


  • Dog Man, by Dav Pilkey
  • Comics Squad: Lunch! by various
  • Laser Moose and Rabbit Boy, by Doug Savage
  • Caveboy Dave, by Aaron Reynolds
  • Lucy and Andy Neanderthal, by Jeffrey Brown


  • Jennifer Holm
  • Raina Telgemeier
  • Ben Hatke
  • Jarrett Krosoczka
  • Hope Larson


  • Bera the One-Headed Troll
  • Raven the Pirate Princess (tie)
  • Margo Maloo
  • Mighty Jack (tie)
  • Peony from Space Battle Lunchtime


  • Caveboy Dave by Aaron Reynolds
  • Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea! by Ben Clanton
  • Hippopotamister, by John Patrick Green
  • Monty the Dinosaur, by Bob Frantz and Jean Franco
  • Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier


  • Space Battle Lunchtime, by Natalie Reiss
  • Comics Squad: Lunch! by Various
  • Lunch Witch: Knee-deep in Niceness, by Deb Lucke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.