Dave Duncan (1933-2018)

Canadian sff author Dave Duncan passed away October 29 after sustaining a brain hemorrhage in a fall.

Originally from Scotland, Duncan lived all his adult life in Western Canada. He worked as a geological consultant until at age 53 he made the transition to full-time professional writer.

Duncan was a prolific novelist who wrote both fantasy and science fiction, although he said, “I always regret that my SF books are less popular than my Fantasy. SF actually takes more work to write!”

His best-known fantasy series included “The Seventh Sword,” “A Man of His Word,” and “The King’s Blades.”

He sold his sixtieth book this year – the science fiction novel Pillar of Darkness.

He won two Aurora Awards, for his novels West of January (1990) and Children of Chaos (2007).

He was an eight-time nominee for the Endeavour Award, given for a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest.

Duncan was both a founding and an honorary lifetime member of SF Canada, the country’s association for speculative fiction professionals. He was inducted into the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame in 2015.

He is survived by his wife, Janet, whom he married in 1959, and by their son, two daughters, and four grandchildren

[Thanks to Susan Forest for the story.]

2009 Endeavour Award finalists Kay Kenyon and Dave Duncan with award committee member Page Fuller.

First Class To Enter Canadian SF&F Hall of Fame

The new Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame will be introduced at the Aurora Awards ceremony during VCON 39/Canvention 34 this coming October 3-5 weekend.

The Hall of Fame’s inaugural class consists of the six Aurora Lifetime Achievement award winners — Phyllis Gotlieb, Judith Merril, Dennis Mullin, Robert J. Sawyer, A.E. van Vogt and Susan Wood — and three additional names selected by a jury — William Gibson, and Spider and Jeanne Robinson.

Gibson and the Robinsons are well-known writers.

Mullin has been an Aurora Award trustee for years.

The members of the CSFFA Hall of Fame Jury for 2014 are Clint Budd(CSFFA Board Appointee/Chair), Diane Walton, Lorna Toolis, Robert J. Sawyer and Steve Fahnestalk.

Update 09/09/2014: According to CSFFA President Clifford Samuels, Mullin is a past Lifetime Achievement Award winner. The jury added only Gibson and the Robinsons.