2019 Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Finalists

Finalists have been announced for the 2019 Silver Falchion award given by the Killer Nashville Writers Conference in Franklin, Tennessee. The Silver Falchion award categories cover the spectrum of popular literature. The conference’s Reader’s Choice nominees also have been posted.

The conference is being held this year August 22-25. The Silver Falchion and the convention’s Readers’ Choice Awards will be presented on August 24.

Here are the finalists in Silver Falchion categories that include works of genre interest.

Sci-fi, Fantasy, and Horror

  • Dana Chamblee Carpenter, Book of the Just
  • Elizabeth Isaacs, The Scythian Trials
  • Julianne Lynch, Beneath the Lighthouse
  • Morgan Smith, The Shades of Winter
  • Maggie Toussaint, Confound It

Short Story Collections/Anthologies

  • Carmen Amato, The Artist
  • Marianne Donley, Untethered: Sweet, Funny, and Strange Tales of the Paranormal
  • Rhonda Gilliland, Cooked to Death III: Hell for the Holidays
  • Leslie Klinger, For the Sake of the Game
  • Jane Suen, Alterations Trilogy
  • R.L. Stine, Scream & Scream Again


  • Liana Gardner, The Journal of Angela Ashby
  • Julianne Lynch, Beneath the Lighthouse
  • Ted Neill, Jamhuri, Njambi & Fighting Zombies
  • Lynn Slaughter, It Should Have Been You
  • Alexandrea Weis, Death by the River

2018 Killer Nashville Awards

The 2018 winners of the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion, Claymore, Reader’s Choice and several other awards were announced by the annual conference on August 25.

Congratulations to Dana Chamblee Carpenter whose book The Devil’s Bible received the Silver Falchion in the Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror category and was named Best Overall Novel.

Killer Nashville 2018 Silver Falchion Awards

Silver Falchion Award: Best Overall Novel
Dana Chamblee Carpenter
The Devil’s Bible

Silver Falchion Award: Best Nonfiction
Shayla McBride
A is for Author

Silver Falchion Award: Best Juvenile Novel
James R. Hannibal
The Fourth Ruby

Silver Falchion Award: Best Suspense
Debra Gaskill
Kissing Fitz

Silver Falchion Award: Best Short Story Collection
Kathryn Lane
Backyard Volcano

Silver Falchion Award: Best Sci-Fi / Fantasy / Horror
Dana Chamblee Carpenter
The Devil’s Bible

Silver Falchion Award: Best Action Adventure
Linda Sands
Grand Theft Cargo

Silver Falchion Award: Best Mystery
Joseph L.S. Terrell
The Last Blue Noon in May

Silver Falchion Award: Best Cozy
Lori Robbins
Lesson Plan for Murder

Silver Falchion Award: Best Procedural
Henry Hack
Forever Young

Silver Falchion Award: Best Thriller
Christopher Greyson
The Girl Who Lived

Silver Falchion Award: Best Attending Author
Maggie Toussaint

Killer Nashville 2018 Claymore Awards

Killer Nashville Claymore Award Winner
Cathy Perkins
The Body in the Beaver Pond

Killer Nashville Claymore Award / 1st Runner Up
Danny Lindsey
Murder in Choctaw County

Killer Nashville Claymore Award / 2nd Runner Up
Elena Melissa Hartwell
Under Fallow Ground

Killer Nashville 2018 Readers’ Choice Award
Baron R. Birtcher
South California Purples

Killer Nashville 2018 C. Auguste Dupin Detective Award
Amy Nygaard

Design of the award, this one presented in 2014.

The Killer Nashville 2018 John Seigenthaler Legends Award
Otto Penzler