2019 Endeavour Award Finalists and Judges

Five novels written by writers from the Pacific Northwest are finalists for the 2019 Endeavour Award. The Award comes with an honorarium of $1,000 and will be announced November 8 at OryCon in Portland, Oregon.

The finalists are:

  • Blood Orbit by K.R. Richardson, Pyr Books
  • The Girl in the Green Silk Gown by Seanan McGuire, Daw Books
  • Irontown Blues by John Varley, Ace Books
  • Moonshine by Jasmine Gower, Angry Robot
  • Trial by Treason by Dave Duncan, Night Shade Books

The Endeavour Award honors a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest.  All entries are read and scored by seven readers randomly selected from a panel of preliminary readers.  The five highest scoring books then go to three final judges, who are all professional writers or editors from outside of the Pacific Northwest.

The judges for the 2019 Award are Kij Johnson, Linda Nagata, and Bud Sparhawk.

Kij Johnson is the author of five books and forty shorter works, and has won the Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy, and Theodore Sturgeon Awards. She teaches creative writing at the University of Kansas, where she is also Associate Director for the Center for the Study of Science Fiction.

Linda Nagata’s work has been nominated for the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, John W. Campbell Memorial, and Theodore Sturgeon Memorial awards. She has won the Nebula and is a two-time winner of the Locus award.  Linda is best known for her high-tech science fiction, including the near-future thriller, The Last Good Man, and the Red trilogy. The first book in the trilogy, The Red: First Light, was named as a Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2015. Her newest novel is Edges, book one in the series Inverted Frontier.

Bud Sparhawk has been a three-time novella finalist for the Nebula Award and has appeared in two Year’s Best anthologies.  He has sold over 100 short stories and three novels; Shattered Dreams, Distant Seas, and Vixen.  This year he has had three short stories appear in Analog, one in Amazing, and another in the anthology In Harm’s

[Via Locus Online.]

Portland Westercon Bid

Portland is bidding for Westercon 69 in 2016 announced chair Lea Rush.

In addition to Rush, the committee of the OSFCI-sponsored bid includes David Turner, Dawn Hewitt, Debra Stansbury, Devlin Perez, Helen Umberger, James Lewis, Lisa Godare, Meredith Cook, Jenn Contreras-Perez, Patty Wells, Samuel Klein, Sarah Gulde, Scott Sanford, and Shauna McKain-Storey.

They propose to hold the event  – nicknamed Bridgecon — in the Doubletree Portland over July 1 – 4, 2016.

The bid’s Facebook and Twitter pages are live.

Portland Will Host 2014 World Horror Con

Oregon Science Fiction Conventions, Inc. and the World Horror Society have announced that the 2014 World Horror Convention will be held in Portland, OR from May 8-11.

The headliners will be  — Author Guests of Honor Nancy Holder, Jack Ketchum, and Norman Partridge; Artist Guest of Honor Greg Staples; Editor Guest of Honor Paula Guran; Ghost of Honor Edward Gorey; and Toastmaster Alan M. Clark.

Membership sales will begin March 4, with voting for the WHC Grandmaster Award starting in the summer. Hotel bookings will be available June 1.

The World Horror 2014 website is presently under construction.

The full press release follows the jump.

Continue reading