2018 World Fantasy Awards Judges Named

The judges for the 2018 World Fantasy Awards, for work published in 2017, have been chosen. The judges will read and consider eligible materials submitted by June 1, 2018 — the earlier the better.

Eligibility Qualifications:  All books must have been published in 2017; magazines must have a 2017 cover date; only living persons are eligible.

Fantasy Types: All forms of fantasy are eligible, e.g. high, epic, dark, contemporary, literary.

2018 World Fantasy Awards Judges

+*David Anthony Durham
4069 Kings Row; Reno, NV  89503
(hard copies; PDFs)

+**Christopher Golden
14 Orchard Hill Road; Bradford, MA  01835;
(prefers hard copies, mobi)

+**Juliet E. McKenna
19 Eton Close; Witney; Oxfordshire; OX28 3GA; United Kingdom;
(prefers hard copies, then mobi)

+Charles Vess
Green Man Press; 152 East Main Street/ 1-E; Abingdon  VA  24210; USA;
(prefers hard copies)

+**Kaaron Warren
7 Berry Street; Downer, ACT, 2602; Australia;
(prefers hard copies, then mobi)

Key: Judging is often easier with +hard copies, but those judges marked with an * can accept pdfs; ** can accept mobi; *** both; § can accept ePub.

Peter Dennis Pautz, President of the World Fantasy Awards Association, adds these instructions —

Send materials you wish to be considered by the panel directly to the addresses above, and very importantly, please mark all packages as PROMOTIONAL MATERIALS – NOT FOR SALE OR RESALE – NO COMMERCIAL VALUE — WORLD FANTASY AWARDS MATERIALS.  Also, please make sure to send a file hard copy of all materials to my office at [8050 Mukilteo Speedway, #43; Mukilteo, WA  98275-0043; USA] so a comprehensive submission list may be kept.  This is how we ensure the judges have received eligible items, and you can be sure that your work has been given fair attention.

World Fantasy Convention 2018 will be held in Baltimore November 1-4, chaired by Ann Marie Rudolph and Bill Lawhorn.

[Thanks to Peter Dennis Pautz for the story.]

Update 12/05/2017: Corrected Christopher Golden’s requirements.

2017 World Fantasy Award Judges Named

Judges have been empaneled for the 2017 World Fantasy Awards, for work published in 2016.

  • Elizabeth Engstrom (USA)
  • Daryl Gregory (USA)
  • Nalo Hopkinson (USA)
  • Juliet Marillier (Australia)
  • Betsy Mitchell (USA)

The judges will be reading and considering eligible materials until June 1, 2017. All forms of fantasy are eligible, e.g. epic, dark, contemporary, literary.

The award trophies will be presented at World Fantasy Con 2017 in San Antonio, TX to be held November 2-5.

The award categories are: Life Achievement; Best Novel; Best Novella (10,001 to 40,000 words); Best Short Story; Best Anthology; Best Collection; Best Artist; Special Award — Professional; Special Award — Non-Professional.

[Thanks to Peter Dennis Pautz for the story.]

Art Submissions Sought By World Fantasy Awards

The World Fantasy Awards judges are seeking materials to consider in the Artist category reminds Peter Dennis Pautz, President of the World Fantasy Awards Association —

As always, this seems to be the category with the fewest submissions from either publishers or artists.

Please remember this category, like the others, is for work published in 2014.

If you have materials you wish considered, the judges for the 2015 World Fantasy Awards are:

Gemma Files, 313 Richmond St. East #768; Toronto Ontario M5A 4S7; Canada (*)
Nina K. Hoffman, P.O. Box 10858; Eugene, OR 97440; USA (**)
Bénédicte Lombardo 50, rue du Clos; 77670 Saint Mammes; FRANCE (***)
Bruce McAllister, 528 E. Palmyra Avenue; Orange, CA 92866; USA (*)
Robert Shearman, 65 Telford Avenue, Streatham Hill; London SW2 4XL; United Kingdom (***)
(All judges prefer hard copies, but those marked * can accept pdfs; ** can accept mobi; *** both)