Ghostwords TV Launches

Steve Green 2016-01-05 screen test COMPChrissie Harper and Steve Green have released the first episode of Ghostwords TV, a fortnightly vidcast devoted to horror, dark fantasy, science fiction, comics and telefantasy.

The opening installment offers a lengthy chat with author Ramsey Campbell, including a discussion of the recent controversy over the World Fantasy Award and reminiscences of the late David Hartwell.

Other topics covered are the TV series Ash vs Evil Dead, the latest releases from comics legend Steve Ditko, personnel changes at Doctor Who, Graham Humphreys’ new artbook (including a discount offer for UK viewers) and a tribute to David Bowie.

The show is available via Rose of Eibon’s YouTube channel (where you can subscribe to all their vidcasts).

Ghostwords logo 720p_screen COMP

2015 World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement Awards for Campbell, Tepper

Ramsey Campbell and Sheri S. Tepper have been selected to receive World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Ramsey Campbell

Ramsey Campbell

Ramsey Campbell: S. T. Joshi predicts “future generations will regard him as the leading horror writer of our generation, every bit the equal of Lovecraft or Blackwood.”

The English author, editor and critic has been writing for well over fifty years. He sold his early stories to editors including August Derleth and Robert A.W. Lowndes. He was only 18 when his first collection, The Inhabitant of the Lake and Less Welcome Tenants (1964) was published by Arkham House. He is the Lifetime President of the British Fantasy Society.

Campbell has already racked up career honors including a Bram Stoker Award for lifetime achievement (1999), the International Horror Guild Awards Living Legend (2007), and as a World Horror Grandmaster (1999).

He has been nominated for the World Fantasy Award 15 times, with four wins. He has won three Bram Stoker Awards and 12 British Fantasy Awards.

Sheri S. Tepper

Sheri S. Tepper

Sheri S. Tepper: Her first fantasy novel was The Revenants (1984), however it was preceded in publication by her True Game books (King’s Blood Four and Necromancer Nine, both 1983), and Wizard’s Eleven (1984). She has written 36 genre novels.

Her novel Grass was a 1990 Hugo nominee, her novella “The Gardener” a 1989 World Fantasy Award nominee. She has had four novels shortlisted for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and had seven works listed for the Tiptree Award.

She has also written horror as E.E. Horlak, and mysteries under the pseudonyms A.J. Orde and B.J. Oliphant.

[Thanks to Michael J. Walsh for the story.]

Howe Quits as Chair of BFS

David Howe resigned as Chairman of the British Fantasy Society just one week after he helped announce the winners of the British Fantasy Awards at Fantasycon. Howe, the awards administrator, was accused by prominent editor Stephen Jones, among others, with a conflict of interest because he is a partner in Telos, the publisher of two BFA-winning stories and winner of Best Small Press, and also is the domestic partner of Sam Stone, winner of two fiction BFA’s.     

British Fantasy Society President Ramsey Campbell exonerated Howe in a statement informing members of the resignation:

Following the recent public allegations made regarding this year’s British Fantasy Awards, The British Fantasy Society Committee would like to state for the record that it is our firm belief that no corruption or wrongdoing took place during the administration of the British Fantasy Awards, and that in this respect all awards should still stand as presented. We confirm that the summation of the votes cast was performed electronically and once the results were checked they were confirmed and verified by another member of the committee.

Campbell asserts that Howe had no control over awards selection, only stepping in to arrange for the physical awards and ceremony when the original administrator was “unable to continue due to personal issues”:

David did not have any involvement with the nominations, short listing or the voting process, other than with the awards administration (procuring the statuettes, plaques, etc) and we are happy that the voting/counting process was 100% accurate within the scope of the current rules. We therefore completely exonerate David from any wrongdoing in the administration of the 2011 Awards.

Perhaps one with full knowledge of the context can reconcile Campbell’s statement with Howe’s own explanation posted October 5 which I took to be an admission of a role in the voting process:

[There] were 140 valid individuals voting in the Awards (I did have to exclude a couple of voters as they were not BFS Members and had not attended FantasyCon either last year, nor were they listed to attend this year).

So the winners were simply those who those that voted thought were worth voting for. Several of the categories were very close between the votes, with in some cases just one vote separating the winner. I asked Del Lakin-Smith, the BFS Webmaster, who was also looking after the online results forms, to do a double check count and tally to ensure complete transparency in what the members had voted for. The results were as announced.

Campbell promises that the awards procedures will be “addressed going forward to maintain the integrity of the society.”

[Via Ansible Links.]