2015 Sturgeon Award Shortlist

The finalists for the 2015 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short science fiction of 2014 have been announced.

The award will be presented at the Campbell Conference in Lawrence, KS being held June 11-14.

“Lady With Fox,” Greg Benford. Carbide Tipped Pens: Seventeen Tales of Hard Science Fiction (eds. Ben Bova and Eric Choi), Tor Books, 2014.
“Childfinder,” Octavia E. Butler. Unexpected Stories, Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy, 2014.
“In Her Eyes,” Seth Chambers. Fantasy & Science Fiction Jan/Feb 2014.
“The Man Who Sold the Moon,” Cory Doctorow. Hieroglyph: Stories and Visions for a Better Future (eds. Ed Finn and Kathryn Cramer), Morrow, 2014.
“Herd Immunity,” Tananarive Due. The End is Now (eds. John Joseph Adams and Hugh Howey), Broad Reach Publishing, 2014.
“When it Ends, He Catches Her,” Eugie Foster. Daily Science Fiction 26 Sep 2014.
We Are All Completely Fine, Daryl Gregory. Tachyon, 2014.
Yesterday’s Kin, Nancy Kress. Tachyon, 2014.
“A Hotel in Antarctica,” Geoffrey Landis. Hieroglyph: Stories and Visions for a Better Future (eds. Ed Finn and Kathryn Cramer), Morrow, 2014.
“The Regular,” Ken Liu. Upgraded (ed. Neil Clarke). Wyrm Publishing 2014.
“The Lightness of the Movement,” Pat MacEwan. Fantasy & Science Fiction Mar/Apr 2014.
“We Are the Cloud,”  Sam J. Miller. Lightspeed Sep 2014.
“The Fifth Dragon,” Ian McDonald. Reach for Infinity (ed. Jonathan Strahan). Solaris, 2014.
“Shatterdown,” Suzanne Palmer. Asimov’s Jun 2014.
“The Cryptic Age,” Robert Reed. Asimov’s Dec 2014.


2014 Campbell and Sturgeon Award Winners

The winners of the Campbell Award for the Best SF Novel and the Sturgeon Award for Best Short Story have been announced. The awards will be presented June 13 at the Campbell Conference in Lawrence, Kansas.

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

  • Strange Bodies, by Marcel Theroux

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “In Joy, Knowing the Abyss,” by Sarah Pinsker

[Via Locus Online and SF SIte News.]

2014 Sturgeon Finalists

The 2014 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award shortlist was announced on May 1 by Christopher McKitterick, Director of the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction. The award is given for the best science fiction short story of the year:

  • “Bloom,” Gregory Norman Bossert. Asimov’s, Dec 2013.
  • “The Weight of the Sunrise,” Vylar Kaftan. Asimov’s, Feb 2013.
  • “They Shall Salt the Earth with Seeds of Glass,” Alaya Dawn Johnson. Asimov’s, Jan 2013.
  • “Over There,” Will McIntosh. Asimov’s, Jan 2013.
  • “The Wildfires of Antarctica,” Alan De Niro. Tyrannia and Other Renditions, Small Beer Press.
  • “The Irish Astronaut,” Val Nolan. Electric Velocipede, May 2013.
  • “In Joy, Knowing the Abyss Behind,” Sarah Pinsker. Strange Horizons, July 2013.
  • “Mystic Falls,” Robert Reed. Clarkesworld, Nov 2013.
  • “Selected Program Notes from the Retrospective Exhibition of Theresa Rosenberg Latimer,” Kenneth Scheyer. Clockwork Phoenix 4, Mythic Delirium Books.
  • “The Urishima Effect,” E. Lily Yu. Clarkesworld, June 2013.

The winners will be revealed at the Campbell Conference on Friday, June 13 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence.

Awards Given at Campbell Conference

Winners of three awards were announced at the 2013 Campbell Conference on June 14.

Molly Gloss won the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for her short story “The Grinnell Method.”

Adam Roberts won the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for his novel Jack Glass.

Kevin J. Anderson and Steven Savile’s novella “Tau Ceti” won the first ever Lifeboat to the Stars Award.

[Via Ruth Lichtwardt.]