Winners of 2018 BookNest Fantasy Awards

The blog announced the winners of the 2018 BookNest Fantasy Awards on November 1.

Best Traditionally Published Novel (Shortlist)

  • Bloody Rose by Nicholas Eames

Best Self-Published Novel (Shortlist)

  • Paternus: Wrath Of The Gods by Dyrk Ashton

Best Debut Novel (Shortlist)

  • The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty

Best Imprint (Longlist)

  • Harper Voyager (HarperCollins)

AWARDS PROCESS. The BookNest Fantasy Awards are selected by a hybrid process — part jury, part popular vote, with a final sanity check on the winners.

The longlist was created with the input of nine popular Fantasy Blogs (Bookworm Blues, Fantasy Book Critic, Fantasy Book Review, Fantasy-Faction, Grimdark Magazine, The Fantasy Hive, The Fantasy Inn, The Grim Tidings Podcast & The Weatherwax Report), three big Fantasy Imprints (Gollancz, Harper Voyager & Orbit), and two well-respected Agents (John Jarrold & Joshua Bilmes of JABberwocky Literary Agency). They nominated their favorite books in the first three categories (Best Traditionally Published Novel, Best Self-Published Novel, and Best Debut Novel), published between October 1st 2017 and September 30th 2018.

In the second stage and with the public’s help, the 10 books and five 5 imprints with the highest number of votes in each category made it to the shortlist. The winners were chosen by a public vote that ended yesterday.

One thought on “Winners of 2018 BookNest Fantasy Awards

  1. Congrats to the winners. I’ve heard nothing but good things about all three novels.

    I’ve loved reading all my life. – John Wayne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.