2012 Aurora Award Winners

Robert Sawyer won Best Novel honors for the third straight year at the Aurora Awards banquet on August 11 during When Words Collide in Calgary. All three novels in his WWW series — Wonder, Wake (2009) and Watch (2010) – have received Canada’s top SF award.  

Best Novel – English
Wonder by Robert J. Sawyer, Penguin Canada

Best Short Fiction – English
The Needle’s Eye by Suzanne Church, Chilling Tales: Evil Did I Dwell; Lewd I Did Live, EDGE

Best Poem / Song – English
Skeleton Leaves by Helen Marshall, Kelp Queen Press

Best Graphic Novel – English
Goblins, webcomic, created by Tarol Hunt

Best Related Work – English
On Spec, published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society

Best Artist
Dan O’Driscoll

Best Fan Publication
Bourbon and Eggnog by Eileen Bell, Ryan McFadden, Billie Milholland and Randy McCharles, 10th Circle Project

Best Fan Filk
Phil Mills, Body of Song-Writing Work including FAWM and 50/90

Best Fan Organizational
Randy McCharles, founder and chair of When Words Collide (Calgary)

Best Fan Other
Peter Watts, “Reality: The Ultimate Mythology” lecture, Toronto SpecFic Colloquium

The Aurora Awards are presented by the Canadian Science Fiction & Fantasy Association.