2013 Clarke Award Shortlist

The six finalists for the 2013 Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year 2013 are:

Nod by Adrian Barnes (Bluemoose)
Dark Eden by Chris Beckett (Corvus)
Angelmaker by Nick Harkaway (William Heinemann)
The Dog Stars by Peter Heller (Headline)
Intrusion by Ken MacLeod (Orbit)
2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)

They were selected from among 82 individual eligible submissions, first published in the UK in 2012, by the judging panel for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke Award:

  • Juliet E McKenna, British Science Fiction Association
  • Ruth O’Reilly, British Science Fiction Association
  • Nickianne Moody, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Liz Williams, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Robert Grant, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

The winner will be announced May 1 during the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival. The winning author will receive a cheque for £2013.00 and a commemorative engraved bookend.

The mostly-female judging panel coincidentally selected six books by male authors, a decision The Guardian’s Alison Flood critcized and judge Liz Williams defended in an essay — also for The Guardian titled “Why this feminist chose an all-male Clarke prize shortlist.”

[Thanks to Andrew Porter for the story.]