2014 Australian Shadows Awards

The winners of the 2014 Australian Shadows Awards given by the Australian Horror Writers Association have been announced.


  • Aaron Sterns and Greg McLean – Wolf Creek Origin

Short Fiction

  • Alan Baxter – “Shadows of the Lonely Dead”

Edited Works

  • SQ Issue 14 – edited by Sophie Yorkston

Collected works

  • Andrew McKiernan – Last Year When We Were Young

Paul Haines Award for Long Fiction (novella)

  • Shane Jiraiya Cummings – Dreams of Destruction

The awards celebrate the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australian or New Zealander for the calendar year of 2014. The winners are selected by a panel of judges.

The judges for the 2015 awards will be Natalie Satakovski, Bianca de Loryn, Christine Ferdinands, Lee Pletzers, Kathy Williams-DeVries, and Jay Caselberg. The judges’ bios can be read here.