2014 British Fantasy Award Winners

bfs_logo-128x300The winners of the 2014 British Fantasy Awards were announced September 7 at FantasyCon 2014 in York.

Best Fantasy Novel (The Robert Holdstock Award)
A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar (Small Beer Press)

Best Horror Novel (The August Derleth Award)
The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes (HarperCollins)

Best Novella
Beauty by Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)

Best Short Story
“Signs of the Times” by Carole Johnstone (Black Static #33)

Best Anthology
End of the Road, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)

Best Collection
Monsters in the Heart by Stephen Volk (Gray Friar Press)

Best Small Press
The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)

Best Comic/Graphic Novel
Demeter by Becky Cloonan

Best Artist
Joey Hi-Fi

Best Non-fiction:
Speculative Fiction 2012, Justin Landon and Jared Shurin (eds) (Jurassic London)

Best Magazine/Periodical:
Clarkesworld, Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace and Kate Baker (ed.) (Wyrm Publishing)

Best Film/Television Episode
Game of Thrones: The Rains of Castamere, David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)

Best Newcomer (The Sydney J. Bounds Award)
Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice (Orbit)

The British Fantasy Society Special Award (The Karl Edward Wagner Award)
Farah Mendlesohn

The nominees in each category were decided by the voters of the British Fantasy Society, FantasyCon 2012 and FantasyCon 2014, with the juries having a discretion to add up to two further “egregious omissions” in each category.

The winners were decided by the following jury members. Fantasy novel: Gary Couzens, Laurel Sills, Matthew Hughes, Neil Williamson and Selina Lock. Horror novel: Cate Gardner, Jim McLeod, Mark West, Pauline Morgan and Thana Niveau. Novella: Aleksandra Kesek, Jo Thomas and Paul Holmes. Short story: David Tallerman, Matthew Hughes and Pauline Morgan. Collection: Matthew Hughes, Ole Andreas Imsen and Pauline Morgan. Anthology: Carole Johnstone, Gary Couzens and Matthew Hughes. Small press: Dave Brzeski, Elaine Hillson, Elloise Hopkins, Rachel Kendall and Rhian Bowley. Non-fiction: Djibril al-Ayad, Emma Newman and Jason Arnopp. Magazine/periodical: Aleksandra Kesek, Donna Bond and Jim McLeod. Comic/graphic novel: Jay Eales, Jennie Gyllblad and P.M. Buchan. Artist: Jennie Gyllblad, P.M. Buchan and Rachel Kendall. Film/television episode: Adrian Faulkner, Catherine Hill and Gary Couzens. Newcomer: Douglas Thompson, Ian Hunter and Lizzie Barrett. The Karl Edward Wagner Award was decided by a vote of the British Fantasy Society committee.

The physical award this year, a handmade wooden bookend featuring Lee Thompson’s BFS logo, was commissioned from Sarah Goss,  who works in traditional woodcarving and restoration.