2014 Elgin Award Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association’s 2014 Elgin Award winners have been announced.

Named for SFPA founder Suzette Haden Elgin, the awards are presented in two categories, Chapbook and Book. Eligible chapbooks contain 10-39 pages of poetry, while books must contain 40 or more pages of poetry.

Elgin Book Award

Winner: Demonstra by Bryan Thao Worra (Innsmouth Free Press, 2013)

Second Place: Unexplained Fevers by Jeannine Hall Gailey (New Binary Press, 2013)

Third Place: Dark Roads by Bruce Boston (Dark Renaissance Books, 2013)

Elgin Chapbook Award

Winner: The Sex Lives of Monsters by Helen Marshall (Kelp Queen Press, 2013)

Second Place: The Edible Zoo by David C. Kopaska-Merkel (Sam’s Dot Publishing)

Third Place: Inhuman: Haiku From The Zombie Apocalypse by Joshua Gage (The Poet’s Haven, 2013)