2014 Shirley Jackson Awards

The winners of the 2014 Shirley Jackson Awards were announced at Readercon on July 11.

Given in recognition of outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic, the awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors.


  • Annihilation, Jeff VanderMeer (FSG Originals)


  • We Are All Completely Fine, Daryl Gregory (Tachyon)


  •  “The End of the End of Everything,” Dale Bailey (Tor.com, April 2014)


  •  “The Dogs Home,” Alison Littlewood (The Spectral Book of Horror Stories, Spectral Press)


  • Gifts for the One who Comes After, Helen Marshall (ChiZine Publications)


  • Fearful Symmetries, edited by Ellen Datlow (ChiZine Publications)

5 thoughts on “2014 Shirley Jackson Awards

  1. There was lots of applause coming from the room where the awards were being given, while I was running the sound board for the panel in the room next door on “Who Owns SF?” (at which puppies were mentioned briefly).

  2. In the photo: front row, seated, Readercon GoH Nicola Griffith and squatting next to her Readercon GoH Gary K. Wolfe.
    Standing, far left, former Readercon GoH Ellen Datlow.

  3. I was really impressed by Daryl Gregory’s We Are All Completely Fine, and have been thrilled to see it on so many short lists. So happy to see it win! Also happy about the Annihilation win; there’s two of the things I nominated for the Hugos getting the luvs elsewhere.

  4. Annihilation (or Area X) mostly likely would have been my top Hugo vote this year if it were on the ballot; I’ve been very glad to see it getting award love in other places.

Comments are closed.