2015 Bram Stoker Awards

Bram Stoker Award trophy

Bram Stoker Award trophy

The Horror Writers Association announced the winners of the 2015 Bram Stoker Awards® tonight at StokerCon in Las Vegas.

(Another group that drives people insane — their website calls these the 2015 awards, the livestream calls them the 2016 awards. The HWA shortlist announcement in February said 2015, so I’m going with that.)

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Paul Tremblay – A Head Full of Ghosts (William Morrow)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Nicole Cushing – Mr. Suicide (Word Horde)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

  • John Dixon – Devil’s Pocket (Simon & Schuster)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Sam Weller, Mort Castle, Chris Ryall, & Carlos Guzman (editors) – Shadow Show: Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury (IDW Publishing)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • Mercedes M. Yardley – Little Dead Red (Grimm Mistresses) (Ragnarok Publications)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • John Palisano – Happy Joe’s Rest Stop (18 Wheels of Horror) (Big Time Books)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • David Robert Mitchell – It Follows (Northern Lights Films)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Michael Bailey – The Library of the Dead (Written Backwards)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

  • Lucy A. Snyder – While the Black Stars Burn (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Stephen Jones – The Art of Horror (Applause Theatre & Cinema Books)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Alessandro Manzetti – Eden Underground (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Other Awards: HWA’s Specialty Press Award was presented to Borderlands Press. The annual Specialty Press Award recognizes a publisher outside the mainstream New York City publishing community that specializes in dark-themed fiction.

The Richard Laymon President’s Award was given to Patrick Freivald and Andrew Wolter, moderators of HWA’s Facebook group. The award is named in honor of Richard Laymon, who died in 2000 while serving as the HWA’s president. It is given by the HWA’s sitting president. The Award is presented to a volunteer who has served in an especially exemplary manner and has shown extraordinary dedication to the organization.

HWA’s Silver Hammer Award went to Michael Knost. Knost provides one of HWA’s most beneficial opportunities to new members by chairing the organization’s Mentorship Program, which matches newer writers with experienced pros for a year-long intensive training.

The Mentor of the Year Award went to Tim Waggoner. The HWA’s Mentorship Program Chairperson and the Program’s Committee select the award’s recipient.

The Horror Writers Association recognized Alan Moore and George A. Romero with Lifetime Achievement Awards. HWA gives Lifetime Achievement awards to individuals whose work has substantially influenced the horror genre.

3 thoughts on “2015 Bram Stoker Awards

  1. Congratulations to the winners! I really enjoyed A Head Full of Ghosts, and am very pleased to see it won.

  2. The Nebulas do the same thing with the year: yesterday’s awards were officially the 2015 Nebulas (although sfadb ignores this and uses 2016).

    And yeah, congrats to all the winners!

  3. The Nebulas are actually even more confusing…The actual Nebulas, the Norton, and the Bradbury are for the year in which the works were published. The selected awards: The O’Donnell Service, Wilhelm Solstice, and Knight Grand Master, are for the year in which they are presented.

Comments are closed.