2015 Crawford Award

Zen Cho’s story collection Spirits Abroad and Stephanie Feldman’s novel The Angel of Losses have tied for the 2015 William L. Crawford Fantasy Award, presented annually by the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts for an outstanding first fantasy book. Each of the winners will receive the full award.

Also on this year’s Crawford shortlist were Ghalib Islam, Fire in the Unnameable Country; Sarah Tolmie, The Stone Boatmen; Greg Bechtel, Boundary Problems; and Jessie Burton, The Miniaturist  (Ecco).

Participating in this year’s nomination and selection process were Farah Mendlesohn, Ellen Klages, Graham Sleight, Karen Burnham, Candas Jane Dorsey, Jedediah Berry, Niall Harrison, and last year’s winner Sofia Samatar.

The award will be presented on March 21 during the 36th International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts in Orlando, Florida.

Other award winners announced by the IAFA today are:

IAFA Distinguished Scholarship Award
Colin Milburn

Jamie Bishop Memorial Award
(for a work of scholarship written in a language other than English)
Fernando Ángel Moreno
Mikel Peregrina
Steven Bermúdez Antúnez.

Awards for student scholarship will be announced later.