2015 Dwarf Stars Winner

The annual Dwarf Stars award, voted on by members of the Science Fiction Poetry Association, recognizes the best speculative poem of 1–10 lines published in the previous year.

The award is designed to honor excellent scifaiku, tanka, cinquains, and other types of short poems that tend to be overshadowed in SFPA’s Rhysling Award competition.

The 2015 honorees are:


  • “abandoned nursing home” • Greg Schwartz • Tales of the Talisman 9:3

Second Place

  • Princess: A Life • Jane Yolen • Mythic Delirium, 2014

Third Place

  • The Square Root of Doppelgängers • Robert Borski • Star*Line 37:2