2015 Kitschies Shortlist

The finalists for the 2015 Kitschies have been announced. The prize, sponsored by Fallen London, is given to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent and entertaining science fiction.” The winners, to be announced March 7, willl receive a total of £2,500 in prize money and a Tentacle trophy.

The Red Tentacle (Novel)

Judged by Sarah Lotz, James Smythe, Nikesh Shukla, Nazia Khatun, and Glen Mehn.

  • The Heart Goes Last, by Margaret Atwood (Bloomsbury)
  • Europe at Midnight, by Dave Hutchinson (Solaris)
  • The Reflection, by Hugo Wilcken (Melville House)
  • The Fifth Season, by N. K. Jemisin (Orbit)
  • The Thing Itself, by Adam Roberts (Gollancz)

The Golden Tentacle (Debut)

Judged by Sarah Lotz, James Smythe, Nikesh Shukla, Nazia Khatun, and Glen Mehn.

  • The Shore, by Sara Taylor (William Heinemann)
  • Blackass, by A. Igoni Barrett (Chatto and Windus)
  • The Gracekeepers, by Kirsty Logan (Harvill Secker)
  • The Night Clock, by Paul Meloy (Solaris)
  • Making Wolf, by Tade Thompson (Rosarium)

The Inky Tentacle (Cover Art)

Judged by Sarah McIntyre, Dapo Adeola, Regan Warner, and Lauren O’Farrell.

  • The Vorrh, by Brian Catling, design by Pablo Declan (Coronet)
  • Monsters, by Emerald Fennell, art direction by Jet Purdie, illustration by Patrick Leger (Hot Key Books)
  • The Honours, by Tim Clare, design and illustration by Peter Adlington (Canongate)
  • The Door that Led to Where, by Sally Gardner, art direction and design by Jet Purdie, illustration by Dover Publications Inc & Shutterstock (Hot Key Books)
  • Get In Trouble, by Kelly Link, design by Alex Merto (Canongate)

The Invisible Tentacle (Natively Digital Fiction)

Judged by James Wallis, Rebecca Levene and Em Short.

[Via Ansible Links.]

4 thoughts on “2015 Kitschies Shortlist

  1. One of the most amazing things Mike does is feature ALL the awards!

    Very glad to see all the love for Fifth Season. The best Fifth!

  2. What I love about listing all the awards, is that it shows that some people thought a certain type of book should get an award, so they created a BRAND NEW AWARD. They didn’t go around moaning that the Hugo wasn’t awarded to the books they liked, boohoo, and try to change it in an unethical way.

Comments are closed.