2015 Sunburst Award Winners

The winners of the 2015 Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced.

2015 Sunburst Adult Award

  • The Back of the Turtle by Thomas King

2015 Sunburst Young Adult Award

  • Tin Star by Cecil Castellucci
Sunburst medallion.

Sunburst medallion.

Winners receive a cash prize of C$1,000 and a medallion.

Novels or novel-length collections of Canadian fantastic literature published during the previous calendar year are eligible for the Sunburst Award.

The 2015 Sunburst Award jury was comprised of S.M. Beiko, Gerard Collins, Paula Johanson, Corey Redekop and Sherryl Vint.

Jurors for the 2016 award will be Timothy Anderson. Sylvie Berard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule and Myna Wallin.

The Sunburst is named after the first novel by Phyllis Gotlieb, among the first published authors of contemporary Canadian science fiction.