2016 Copper Cylinder Awards

Copper Cylinder Award

Copper Cylinder Award. Design created by Peter Halasz and Rebecca Simkin.

The winners of the fifth annual Copper Cylinder Awards have been announced by the Sunburst Award Society. The Copper Cylinder is an annual members’ choice award for Canadian literature of the fantastic.

Adult Award

  • Signal to Noise by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Solaris).

Young Adult Award

  • An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah Bobet (Scholastic Canada).

Mexican by birth, Canadian by inclination, Silvia Moreno-Garcia lives in British Columbia with her family and two cats. Her speculative fiction has been collected in This Strange Way of Dying. Signal to Noise is her debut novel.

Leah Bobet grew up in Vaughan, ON, and currently resides in Toronto. Bobet is the author of multiple short stories and poems that have appeared in magazines, anthologies, and school readers around the world. An Inheritance of Ashes has been shortlisted for the 2016 Canadian Library Association Young Adult Book Award.

5 thoughts on “2016 Copper Cylinder Awards

  1. I can’t imagine trying to fly with that; it’d be even worse than a Hugo for getting through security with!

    I don’t understand your carbon rod reference, Darren?

  2. I’ve never seen the episode (I’ve only ever seen two Simpsons episodes), but if I’m parsing what you’re saying correctly it seems a bit disrespectful of the winners. No doubt it’s just that I don’t know the Simpsons.

  3. You’re overthinking it. It was simply the phrase (and photo for) “copper cylinder” made me think of “inanimate carbon rod.” That, and the fact that the inanimate carbon rod was given various accolades and rewards on The Simpsons. I simply wish to live in a world where an inanimate carbon rod can win a copper cylinder. (Or, for that matter, where a copper cylinder can win an inanimate carbon rod.)

Comments are closed.