2016 Ditmar Awards

Ditmar Award

The winners of the Ditmar Awards were announced March 27 at Contact 2016, the Australian National SF Convention, in Brisbane.

Best Novel

  • Lament for the Afterlife, Lisa L. Hannett (ChiZine Publications)

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “Of Sorrow and Such”, Angela Slatter (Tor.com)

Best Short Story

  • “A Hedge of Yellow Roses”, Kathleen Jennings, in Hear Me Roar (Ticonderoga Publications)

Best Collected Work

  • Cranky Ladies of History, edited by Tansy Rayner Roberts and Tehani Wessely (FableCroft Publishing)

Best Artwork

  • Cover and internal artwork, Kathleen Jennings, for Cranky Ladies of History (FableCroft Publishing)

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts

Best Fan Writer

  • Grant Watson, for body of work

Best Fan Artist

  • Kathleen Jennings, for body of work, including Illustration Friday series

Best New Talent

  • Rivqa Rafael

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • Letters to Tiptree, edited by Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)

Other awards presented at the Ditmar Awards Ceremony

Peter McNamara Achievement Award

The Peter McNamara Achievement Award (aka. “The Mac”) is a lifetime achievement award presented in honour of the late Peter NcNamara at the NatCon awards ceremony. This award is administrated by the McNamara family in Peter’s honour.

  • Rowena Cory Daniells

Norma K. Hemming Award

The Norma K. Hemming Award marks excellence in the exploration of race, gender, sexuality, class and disability, and is awarded by the Australian Science Fiction Foundation (ASFF).

  • Louise Katz for The Orchid Nursery

Honourable Mentions were awarded to Catherine Jinks for her novel Theophilus Grey and the Demon Thief published by Allen & Unwin, and to Jane Rawson for her novella Formaldehyde published by Seizure Books.

A. Bertram Chandler Award

Australia’s top fan award, the Chandler is awarded by the ASFF for outstanding achievement in science fiction. Unlike the Ditmars, this award is decided upon by a jury appointed by the Foundation.

  • James “Jocko” Allen

Update 03/27/2016: Added honorable mentions to Norma K. Hemming Award, based on press release. // Update 03/29/2016: Corrected winner of Best Artwork and Best Fan Publication categories.

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

3 thoughts on “2016 Ditmar Awards

  1. A small correction. The Best Fan Publication in Any Medium should be Galactic Suburbia by Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce and Tansy Rayner Roberts. Otherwise I gave the award to wrong person last night.

  2. Pingback: Another Lovely Surprise |

Comments are closed.