2016 Elgin Award Candidates

The Science Fiction Poetry Association’s Elgin Award, named for SFPA founder Suzette Haden Elgin, is presented in two categories, Chapbook and Book.

Nominations for the Elgin Award closed June 15. The SFPA website shows these poems as the candidates for the award.


  • Be Closer for My Burn • Robin Wyatt Dunn (Crisis Chronicles Press, 2015)
  • The Book of Answers • Herb Kauderer (Written Image, 2014)
  • A Guide for the Practical Abductee • E. Kristin Anderson (Red Bird Chapbooks, 2014)
  • Southern Cryptozoology • Allie Marini (Hyacinth Girl Press, 2015)
  • Stairs Appear in a Hole Outside of Town • John Philip Johnson (Graphic Poetry, 2014)
  • Undoing Winter • Shannon Connor Winward (Finishing Line Press, 2014)

Full-length Books

  • The Acolyte • Nancy Hightower (Port Yonder Press, 2015)
  • Chemical Letters • Octavia Cade (Popcorn Press, 2015)
  • The Crimson Tome • K. A. Opperman (Hippocampus Press, 2015)
  • Crowned: The Sign Of The Dragon Book 1 • Mary Soon Lee (Dark Renaissance Books, 2015)
  • Dark Energies • Ann K. Schwader (P’rea Press, 2015)
  • Dawn of the Algorithm • Yann Rousselot (Inkshares, 2015)
  • The Dishonesty of Dreams • A.J. Odasso (Flipped Eye Publishing, 2014)
  • Dreams from a Black Nebula • Wade German (Hippocampus Press, 2014)
  • An Exorcism of Angels • Stephanie Wytovich (Raw Dog Screaming Press, 2015)
  • Gravedigger’s Dance • G.O. Clark (Dark Renaissance Books, 2014)
  • Eden Underground • Alessandro Manzetti (Crystal Lake Publishing, 2015)
  • The Endless Machine • Max Ingram (Bone Forge Books, 2015)
  • If the Tabloids Are True What Are You? • Matthea Harvey (Graywolf Press, 2014)
  • An Inheritance of Stone • Leslie J. Anderson (Alliteration Ink, 2014)
  • Lilith’s Demons • Julie r. Enszer (A Midsummer Night’s Press, 2015)
  • The Madness of Empty Spaces • David E. Cowen (Weasel Press, 2014)
  • The Manufacturer of Sorrow • Michelle Scalise (Eldritch Press, 2014)
  • Naughty Ladies • Marge Simon (Eldritch Press, 2015)
  • Resonance Dark and Light • Bruce Boston (Eldritch Press, 2015)
  • The Robot Scientist’s Daughter • Jeannine Hall Gailey (Mayapple Press, 2015)
  • Solar Maximum • Sueyeun Juliette Lee (Futurepoem Books, 2015)
  • Some Fatal Effects of Curiosity and Disobedience • Laura Madeline Wiseman (Lavender Ink, 2014)
  • Space Traveler • Benjamin S. Grossberg (University of Tampa Press, 2014)
  • To Love As Aswang • Barbara Jane Reyes (PAWA, 2015)
  • Turn Left at November: Poems • Wendy Rathbone (Eye Scry Publications, 2015)
  • Visitations into Sídhe and Tír na nÓg • Alex Ness (Uffda Press, 2015)

To be considered, chapbooks must contain 10-39 pages of poetry and books must contain 40 or more pages of poetry. The books must have been published in 2014 or 2015.

E-books are eligible, but self-published books are not. Single-author and collaborative books are eligible; anthologies are not. Books containing fiction as well as poetry are not eligible. Books must be in English, but translations are eligible. In the case of translations that also contain the poems in the original language, those pages will not count toward the total page count.

Any works that have already won 1st-3rd place in the preceding year are ineligible.

1 thought on “2016 Elgin Award Candidates

  1. Pingback: AMAZING NEWS FROM FANDOM: 6/26/16 - Amazing Stories

Comments are closed.