28 thoughts on “2016 Nebulas Livestream

  1. Not a lot of publicity on this. I could find nothing about live streaming on SFWA’s website or Facebook page earlier today.

  2. Joel Zakem: They’ve tweeted the link several times in the past hour or so. Might start as late as :45 past the hour, accoring to the tweets.

  3. I would have hoped that they would have utilized more than one aspect of social media to get the word out. While they might have posted it on twitter, I still don’t see anything on FB or their web page.

  4. Speaking of social media, I flipped over to that sidebar of the livestream to escape the execrable chat.

  5. Gay Haldeman presented the Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award to Dr. Lawrence M. Schoen. The Kevin Oโ€™Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award recognizes a member of SFWA who best exemplifies the ideal of service to his or her fellow members. Oโ€™Donnell won the Service Award in 2005 the first time the Nebula Awards were presented in Chicago.

  6. Merc Rustad presented the Ray Bradbury Award for Best Dramatic Presentation to Mad Max: Fury Road (Written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, Nick Lathouris).

  7. Jodi Lynn Nye presented the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award to Sir Terry Pratchett. The Solstice Award is presented to individuals who have had a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major positive difference within the speculative fiction field, much like its namesake.

  8. Daryl Gregory presented the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult SFF to Updraft by Fran Wilde.

  9. Cat Rambo presented the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award to C.J. Cherryh. This award is given by SFWA for “lifetime achievement in science fiction and/or fantasy”.

  10. @Mike Glyer: Thanks for the link!

    @JJ: Thanks for posting the winners!

    (tuning in) Oh cool, just in time for the Grandmaster award! ๐Ÿ˜€ (I’ll let @JJ announce. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    ETA: Someone in the chat stream commented, “She’s great, and even with this award, somehow STILL underrated.”

  11. Cherryh gave a beautifully emotive speech, clearly overwhelmed by receiving the award. She says “I am FAR from done.”

  12. Walter Day presented Cherryh with a SFWA trading card he designed. The collection of SFWA cards can be seen here.

  13. Rachael Acks presented the Nebula for Best Short Story to Alyssa Wong for “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers”.

  14. The Nebula for Best Novelette was presented to “Our Lady of the Open Road” by Sarah Pinsker. (sorry, I missed the presenter’s name)

  15. S.B. Divya presented the Nebula for Best Novella to “Binti” by Nnedi Okorafor.

  16. Helene Wecker presented the Nebula for Best Novel to Uprooted by Naomi Novik.

  17. Hahaha, in the chat stream, Didi Chanoch wrote she would be happy with quite a few of the novels winning, then she said “But I’m MOST delighted for UPROOTED, because, well, that’s the one I’m going to publish!” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. Well. That was good. Except for Sir Terry, women took home all the awards. (And George Miller, of course, but you could say he got it because of Imperator Furiosa.)

    Although I’m kind of surprised that Uprooted beat out The Fifth Season. (I loved Uprooted as well, but my socks are still in orbit because of N.K.Jemison.)

  19. Mike Glyer: Thanks to JJ for such a great job of liveblogging the winners!

    Kendall: Yes, thanks, @JJ!

    It occurred to me just as the show got going that not everyone would have access to the Livestream or to Twitter, for up-to-the-second news. You are most welcome. ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. Just to fill in the name of the missing presenter Alec Nevala-Lee presented the Best Novelette Award.

    The broadcast began with a performance of “Radio SFWA,” written by Henry Lien, who performed as Emperor Stardust and the Eunuchs of the Forbidden City (backup dancers included Liz Argall, Tina Connolly, Alyx Dellamonica, Fonda Lee, Reggie Lutz, and Kelly Robson.

    The toastmaster, John Hodgman, was escorted to the stage and assisted by a Klingon (Jen Usellis) and Star Wars Bounty Hunter Jodo Kast (Chris Buetsch)

Comments are closed.