2017 Eisner Award Winners

The winners of the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards 2017 were announced July 21 at San Diego Comic-Con International.

Best Short Story

  • “Good Boy,” by Tom King and David Finch, in Batman Annual #1 (DC)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot

  • Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In, by Evan Dorkin, Sarah Dyer, and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse)

Best Continuing Series

  • Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Limited Series

  • The Vision, by Tom King and Gabriel Walta (Marvel)

Best New Series

  • Black Hammer, by Jeff Lemire and Dean Ormston (Dark Horse)

Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8)

  • Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea, by Ben Clanton (Tundra)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12)

  • Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17)

  • The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson (Marvel)

Best Humor Publication

  • Jughead, by Chip Zdarsky, Ryan North, Erica Henderson, and Derek Charm (Archie)

Best Anthology

  • Love is Love, edited by Marc Andreyko (IDW/DC)

Best Reality-Based Work

  • March (Book Three), by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell (Top Shelf)

Best Graphic Album—New

  • Wonder Woman: The True Amazon by Jill Thompson (DC Comics)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint

  • Demon, by Jason Shiga (First Second)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material

  • Moebius Library: The World of Edena, by Jean “Moebius” Giraud et al. (Dark Horse)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia

  • The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips (at least 20 years old)

  • Chester Gould’s Dick Tracy, Colorful Cases of the 1930s, edited by Peter Maresca (Sunday Press)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books (at least 20 Years Old)

  • The Complete Wimmen’s Comix, edited by Trina Robbins (Fantagraphics)

Best Writer

  • Brian K. Vaughan, Paper Girls, Saga, We Stand On Guard (Image)

Best Writer/Artist

  • Sonny Liew, The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye (Pantheon)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team

  • Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)

  • Jill Thompson, Wonder Woman: The True Amazon (DC); Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In (Dark Horse)

Best Cover Artist (for multiple covers)

  • Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)

Best Coloring

  • Matt Wilson, Cry Havoc, Paper Girls, The Wicked + The Divine (Image); Black Widow, The Mighty Thor, Star-Lord (Marvel)

Best Lettering

  • Todd Klein, Clean Room, Dark Night, Lucifer (Vertigo/DC); Black Hammer (Dark Horse)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism

  • The A.V. Club comics coverage, including Comics Panel, Back Issues, and Big Issues, by Oliver Sava et al., www.avclub.com

Best Comics-Related Book

  • Krazy: George Herriman, A Life in Black and White, by Michael Tisserand (Harper)

Best Academic/Scholarly Work

  • Superwomen: Gender, Power, and Representation, by Carolyn Cocca (Bloomsbury)

Best Publication Design

  • The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, designed by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)

Best Webcomic

Best Digital Comic


  • Comicazi, Robert Howard, David Lockwood, Michael Burke. Somerville, MA

The five finalists were:

  • Comicazi, Robert Howard, David Lockwood, Michael Burke. Somerville, MA
  • The Comic Bug, Jun Goeku, Mike Wellman. Manhattan Beach, CA
  • Illusive Comics and Games, Anna Warren Cebrian. Santa Clara, CA
  • Kingpin Books, Mário Freitas. Lisbon, Portugal
  • Space Cadets Collection Collection, Jen King. Oak Ridge North, TX

The Spirit of Comics award judges were:

  • John Hertzler (actor, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine)
  • Josh Geppi (president, Diamond International Galleries)
  • Victoria Jamieson (graphic novelist, Roller Girl, The Great Pet Escape)
  • Adam Sherif (2016 Spirit Award winner, Orbital Comicz, London, UK)
  • Bill Morrison (executive editor, MAD magazine)


  • Jack Kirby
  • Bill Messner-Loebs


  • Anne Szabla, writer-artist of Bird Boy (Dark Horse)

The award is presented to a comics artist who, early in his or her career, shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics. It is named for Russ Manning, the artist best known for his work on the Tarzan and Star Wars newspaper strips and the Magnus, Robot Fighter comic book, and a popular guest at the San Diego convention in the 1970s.

The 2017 nominees were:

  • Rafael de Latorre, artist of Animosity and Superzero (AfterShock)
  • Riana Dorsey, artist of Cloud Riders (Hashtag Comics)
  • Mindy Lee, artist of Bounty (Dark Horse)
  • Leila Leiz, artist of Alters (AfterShock)
  • Anne Szabla, writer/artist of Bird-Boy (Dark Horse)


  • Joe Ferrara
  • Marc Andreyko


Judges Choices (automatically inducted)

  • Milt Gross (1895–1953)
  • H. G. Peter (1880–1958)
  • Antonio Prohías (1921–1998)
  • Dori Seda (1950–1988)

Voters Choices

  • Gilbert Hernandez and Jaime Hernandez
  • George Perez
  • Walt Simonson
  • Jim Starlin

5 thoughts on “2017 Eisner Award Winners

  1. I cannot believe that Terminal Lance: The White Donkey, was left out. Written and drawn by a Marine veteran of the Iraq War it is an uncompromising look at America’s longest war and what it does to the young men and women who serve in it.

  2. I really don’t get the love for “The Vision” (assuming this is the same thing that was in the Hugo packet).

    I guess we should all look at Charlie Chan Hock Chye?

  3. Pingback: AMAZING NEWS FROM FANDOM: 7/23/2017 - Amazing Stories

  4. @Douglas Berry

    I agree. If it had been SFnal, then it would have been on my Hugo nomination list.

    The Eisner folks missed something special there.


    I found “The Vision” in the Hugo packet to be compelling and well drawn. Two qualities that were lacking in a couple other nominees. Sadly, I didn’t finish all of the samples before balloting closed.


  5. I have, pardon the pun, issues with The Vision on the Hugo ballot. Not that I think it isn’t worthy, but that I think it’s incorrectly nominated in a way that’s always bothered me about the Graphic Story category.

    So, here’s what the Vision was. A 12 issue mini-series telling an overall story with individual subplots and things wrapped up in one or a few issues. Issues 3-12 came out in 2016. Two collections, one collecting 1-6, and one collecting 7-12, both came out in 2016. No collection of all twelve issues has come out yet. But somehow, the first collection, which tells only half the story, is what’s on the ballot. Even though the whole 12 issue story is eligible based on the publication date of issue #12.

    As for the White Donkey, I note that it was published by Little, Brown, a non-traditional publisher of a graphic novel. The way the Eisners work with respect to the final ballot is that 5-6 appointed judges get together for a weekend in San Diego where they go over everything submitted for consideration and make up the final ballot (including, in some cases, what the categories on said ballot are). So if The White Donkey wasn’t submitted by Little, Brown, it wasn’t going to be on the ballot. Or it could be the judges this year just didn’t like it (or like it as much as the other finalists).

Comments are closed.