2017 Kurd-Laßwitz-Preis Winners

The 2017 Kurd-Laßwitz-Preis winners were announced on March 31.

The award, named after early sf author Kurd Laßwitz (1848–1910), has been given since 1981 to exceptional German sf works and translations. For more information (in German) see the official site here.

The translations of the category titles and citations are via Nina Horvath at Europa SF.

Best German Science-Fiction Novel

(published for the first time in 2016):

  • Andreas Brandhorst – Omni (Piper)

Best German Short Prosa

  • Gabriele Behrend — Suicide Rooms (in: Exodus 35)

Best Foreign Science-Fiction Book (translated into German)

  • Cixin Liu — Die drei Sonnen (The Three-Body Problem), (Heyne)

Best Science-Fiction Translation

  • Martina Hasse (Cixin Liu: Die drei Sonnen, Heyne)

Best Cover Art or Illustration

  • Greg Ruth (Nnedi Okorafor: Lagune, Cross Cult)

Best German Audio Play

  • [No award given]

Special Award for Extraordinary Achievements (One time)

[Translation to English via Europa SF]

  • Ralf Boldt, Sylvana Fryberg and the team of the MediKonOne for organizing the MediKonOne and the innovation of doing a crossover of medicine and science-fiction

Special Award for Extraordinary Achievements (Over years)

[Translation to English via Europa SF]

  • Herbert W. Franke for his lifetime achievement

[Via Europa SF. With KMA Locus Online.]   

1 thought on “2017 Kurd-Laßwitz-Preis Winners

  1. Congrats to all the winners!

    The Three Body Problem got a lot of positive reception in Germany and was even recommended by critic and fan Denis Scheck in his literature TV show.

Comments are closed.