2017 Lord Ruthven Awards

The winners of the 2017 Lord Ruthven Awards, presented for the best fiction on vampires and the best academic work on the study of the vampire figure in culture and literature, were announced at this year’s International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts.

Lord Ruthven Award: Non-Fiction

  • 2017: David J. Skal, Something in the Blood: The Untold Story of Bram Stoker, the Man Who Wrote Dracula

Lord Ruthven Award: Fiction

  • 2017: Anne Rice, Prince Lestat and the Realms of Atlantis

Lord Ruthven Award: Media/Popular Culture

  • 2017: Vamped / The Vampire Historian

The awards take their name from the vampire antagonist in John Polidori’s “The Vampyre” (1819) and are given by the Lord Ruthven Assembly, an organization affiliated with the IAFA whose objectives include the serious pursuit of scholarship and research focusing on the vampire/revenant figure in a variety of disciplines.

1 thought on “2017 Lord Ruthven Awards

  1. Pingback: AMAZING NEWS FROM FANDOM: 10-1-2017 - Amazing Stories

Comments are closed.