2017 Munsey Award

Munsey Award print. Art by David Saunders.

Philip Stephensen-Payne is the winner of the 2017 Munsey Award, announced at PulpFest 2017 on July 29. The award is presented annually to a person who has worked for the betterment of the pulp community.

Philip Stephensen-Payne is a prolific bibliographer and pulp researcher based in the United Kingdom. For many years, he has been compiling extremely useful “working bibliographies,” (often in collaboration with the late Gordon Benson, Jr.) of speculative fiction writers, many of whom got their start writing for the pulps. These bibliographies, numbering about sixty, are some of the best reference resources available today in the area of science fiction and fantasy. Additionally, his Galactic Central website contains an online checklist of all known fiction magazines that is attempting to include the cover to every such magazine ever published. It also indexes bibliographies, pulps, science fiction magazines, and other genre magazines. Stephensen-Payne is also a significant contributor and host to the FictionMags Index — principally edited by William G. Contento — and co-author (with Stephen T. Miller and William G. Contento) of the CRIME, MYSTERY, AND GANGSTER FICTION MAGAZINE INDEX, originally released on CD-ROM by Locus Press in 2011.

Nominations come from the general pulp community, and the winner is selected by a vote cast by all the living Lamont, Munsey, and Rusty Award winners. The award is a fine art print created by Dan Zimmer of a David Saunders painting.

The award was accepted by Walker Martin as Phil, a retiree in the United Kingdom, was unable to attend the convention.

4 thoughts on “2017 Munsey Award

  1. Phil is an excellent choice for the Munsey Award. His service to the old magazine community is extraordinary and quite valueable to all who use Phil’s Galactic Central site and the Fictionmags index.

  2. I was really happy when Mike Chomko informed me that Phil had won. Not that the others that were nominated did not deserve to win. But there is always next year.

Comments are closed.