2017 Parsec Awards

The Parsec Awards committee has announced the 2017 awardees for excellence in speculative fiction podcasting.

Best Speculative Fiction Comedy/Parody Podcast

Winner: Star Wars Best in Galaxy Season 3 by Mark Restuccia & Patch Hyde


  • Kakos Industries by Conrad Miszuk
  • Are You Scared of These Stories? by Robert Hibbs, Robbie Owens, & Josh Jenkins
  • Wynabego Warrior The Tale of John Waynnabe by Audioblivious Productions
  • Nerdy Show: Nerdcasting the Multiverse: Thanksgiving Special by The Nerdy Show Network
  • GnomeMatter: Cadavorue & Macoy in 2016 by Susan C. Tolly & Cary Michael Ayers

Best Podcast about Speculative Fiction Content Creation

Winner: Calliope Writing Coach Podcast by Angie Fenimore & Michael Sheen (Dandelion Productions)


  • Two Gay Geeks by Keith Lane & Ben Ragunton
  • Lightning Dogs: The Official Paw’dcast by The Nerdy Show Network
  • Audio Drama Production Podcast by Fiona Thraille & Sarah Golding
  • Stage Nine by Mike Schindler & John Mills

Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (Specific)

Winner: Aggressive Negotiations: A Star Wars Podcast by John Mills & Matt Rushing


  • Trek Geeks: A Star Trek Podcast by Dan Davidson & Bill Smith
  • Back to the Future Minute by Scott Carelli & Nick Jimenez
  • Beyond Westworld by Aaron Peterson & Troy Heinritz
  • Mission Log: A Roddenberry Star Trek Podcast by John Champion & Ken Ray

Best Speculative Fiction Magazine or Anthology Podcast

The Theatre of Tomorrow by Travis McMaster & Mark Whitten


  • Seminar by Pendant Productions
  • Escape Pod by Escape Artists
  • Brick Moon Fiction published by Jason T. Reed
  • The Wicked Library by Daniel Foytik & Nelson W. Pyles

Best Speculative Fiction Fan or News Podcast (General)

Winner: The Faculty of Horror by Andrea Subissati & Alexandra West


  • Nutty Bites by Nuchtchas
  • Piper’s Picks TV by Piper Reese & Adam Feinsilver
  • The 602 Club by Matthew Rushing
  • MegaPodTastic by Krazy Joe

Best Fact Behind the Fiction Podcast

Talk Nerdy with Cara Santa Maria by Cara Santa Maria


  • Universe Today’s Guide to Space by Fraser Cain
  • Planetary Radio by Mat Kaplan, The Planetary Society
  • Meta Treks: A Star Trek Philosophy Podcast by Zachary Fruhling & Mike Morrison
  • decipherSciFi by Christopher Peterson & Lee Colbert

Best Speculative Fiction Video Story

Winner: The Uncle Interloper Show by Grant Baciocco


  • Grant’s Advent Calendar by Grant Baciocco
  • Country Bear Collector Show by Grant Baciocco

Best New Speculative Fiction Podcaster/Team

Winner: MarsCorp by Definitely Human


  • Beyond Westworld by Aaron Peterson and Troy Heinritz
  • Synesthesia Theatre by Burning Brigid Media
  • Lesser Gods by Colleen Scriven
  • Aural Traditions: Crosswired by Straight Talk Entertainment

Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Long Form)

Winner: Uncanny County by Todd Faulkner, Alison Crane, & Nicole Greevy


  • The Byron Chronicles by Eric L. Busby
  • MarsCorp by Definitely Human
  • Radio Icebox Season 02: Rise of the Sirens by Jeffrey Adams
  • We’re Alive: Lockdown by Wayland Productions
  • Our Fair City by Clayton Feits

Best Speculative Fiction Story: Large Cast (Short Form)

Return Home – “Genie” by Maia Brown-Jackson


  • Return Home – “Hooves in the Dirt” by Jeff Heimbuch
  • The Voice of Free Planet X – “A Good Guy With A Magic Sword” by Jared Axelrod
  • Suspense – “The Black Madonna” by John C. Alsedek & Dana Perry-Hayes, from the short story by Harold Lawlor
  • Suspense – “Jinx of the Jellicoe Jasper” by John C. Alsedek & Dana Perry-Hayes

Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Long Form)

The Raven and the Writing Desk – “Things Unseen” by Chris Lester


  • The Black: Outbreak by Paul Elard Cooley
  • The Adventures of Elizabeth Crowne – “The Woman in the Sky” by Robert Isenberg
  • Sable by Lane Lloyd
  • The Alien Adventures of Finn Caspian by Jonathan Messinger

Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Short Form)

Winner: The Wicked Library – “Shadows” by K. B. Goddard


  • The Lift – “The Lost Library” by K. B. Goddard
  • Seminar – “True Horror” by Jeffrey Bridges
  • The Junto Presents – “The Jack Of Lanterns” by David Parkin
  • The Junto Presents – “The Ghosts Of Christmas Eve: Tiny Tim” by David Parkin

Best Speculative Fiction Story: Small Cast (Novella Form)

Six Stories, Told at Night by KT Bryski


  • The Gray Area by Edward Champion
  • The Alien Adventures of Finn Caspian by Typedrawer Media

Best Speculative Fiction Audio Drama (Short Form)

Winner: Campfire Radio Theater – “Woods Ferry” by John Ballentine


  • Punch It: Writing in Pop Culture – “The Last Will Be First” by Tristan Riddell & The Girl
  • The Theater in Your Mind – “Anything Helps” by Jon Holland
  • The Junto Presents – “Driver For The Dead” by David Parkin
  • Campfire Radio Theater – “Abduction at Willow Woods” by John Ballentine

One thought on “2017 Parsec Awards

  1. Pingback: AMAZING NEWS FROM FANDOM: 1-7-2018 - Amazing Stories

Comments are closed.