2017 Sir Julius Vogel Award Finalists

The nominees for the 2017 Sir Julius Vogel Award have been announced.  The awards recognize excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror by New Zealanders.

The winners will be decided by a vote of the members of SFFANZ, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand Inc., and of the national convention, Lexicon 2017.

Professional Award Nominees

Best Novel

  • Innocents by Sarah Fayermann (FeedARead.com Publishing)
  • Den of Wolves by Juliet Marillier (Pan MacMillan Australia)
  • Into the Mist by Lee Murray (Cohesion Press)
  • Daybreak Rising (Embers of Redemption, vol 1) by Kiran Oliver (CreateSpace Independent Publishing)
  • Night’s Fall by Richard Parry (Mondegreen)

Best Youth Novel

  • Stranded Starship (You Say Which Way) by Kevin Berry (Fairytale Factory)
  • The Ghosts of Moonlight Creek by Sue Copsey (CreateSpace Independent Publishing)
  • Battlesaurus: Clash of Empires by Brian Falkner (MacMillan)
  • Light in My Dark by Jean Gilbert and William Dresden (Rogue House Publishing)

Best Novella / Novelette

  • The Convergence of Fairy Tales by Octavia Cade (Book Smugglers)
  • Babylon’s Song by Woelf Dietrich, published in Interspecies (Kosa Press)
  • The Sleeper’s Dance – A Novella by Mouse Diver-Dudfield (Pouakai Books)
  • Spindle by Dan Rabarts, published in Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine issue 63
  • Tipuna Tapu by Dan Rabarts (Clan Destine Press)

Best Short Story

  • “Narco” by Michelle Child, published in At the Edge (Paper Road Press)
  • “Splintr” by A.J. Fitzwater, published in At the Edge (Paper Road Press)
  • “Wakers” by Sean Monaghan, published in Asimov’s Science Fiction, August 2016
  • “Call of the Sea” by Eileen Mueller, published in At the Edge (Paper Road Press)
  • “BlindSight” by A.J. Ponder, published in At the Edge (Paper Road Press)
  • “London’s Crawling” by Emma Pullar, published in Dark Minds Charity Collection (Bloodhound Books)

Best Collected Work

  • At the Edge, Edited by Dan Rabarts and Lee Murray (Paper Road Press)
  • Everything is Fine, Grant Stone (Racket House)

Best Professional Artwork

  • Cover artwork for Write Off Line 2016: Everyone’s a Winner by Kodi Murray (Rogue House Publishing)
  • Cover artwork for Beyond the Stars by Kodi Murray (Tauranga Writers Publishing)
  • Cover artwork for Chameleon Moon, by Laya Rose
  • Midnight Star, Laya Rose
  • Cover artwork for That Kind of Planet, Emma Weakley (Random Static)
  • Cover artwork for At the Edge, Emma Weakley (Paper Road Press)

Best Professional Production / Publication

  • That Kind of Planet, Emma Weakley (Random Static)

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • This Papier Mache Boulder is Actually Really Heavy, Andrew Beszant and Christian Nicholson (Little Hero Productions)
  • Chronesthesia, Directed by Hayden J. Weal, collaborator Simeon Duncombe
  • AFK: the webseries, episode 12, “ZERG”, Directed by Peter Haynes (Epically Casual Productions)

Fan Award Nominees

Best Fan Production/ Publication

  • Novazine, Edited by Jacqui Smith
  • Phoenixine, Edited by John and Lynelle Howell
  • Summer Star Trek: Mirror, Mirror, Enterprise Entertainment

Best Fan Writing

  • Alex Lindsay for SITREP, Published in Phoenxine
  • Jacqui Smith, For contributions to Novazine
  • Octavia Cade, For Food and Horror Column Series (Book Smugglers)

Best Fan Artist

  • Keith Smith, Contributions to Novazine

Special Award Nominees

Best New Talent

  • Eileen Mueller
  • Richard Parry
  • Laya Rose
  • Darian Smith

Services To Science Fiction, Fantasy And Horror

  • Lee Murray

Services To Fandom

  • Jan Butterworth
  • Lynelle Howell

The lengthy supporting statements for the Special Award nominees can be read at the SFFANZ  website.

[Thanks to JJ for the story.]


2 thoughts on “2017 Sir Julius Vogel Award Finalists

  1. There’s only one fan artist in all of New Zealand?! 😉 I guess I can say, “Congrats to the winner!”

  2. Pingback: Finalistas de los premios Sir Julius Vogel 2017 | Fantástica – Ficción

Comments are closed.