2018 Ditmar Awards

The Australian SF (“Ditmar”) Awards for 2018 were presented at the 2018 Australian National SF Convention, (Swancon 43), in Perth on April 1.

Best Novel

  • Crossroads of Canopy, Thoraiya Dyer, Tor.

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “Girl Reporter”, Tansy Rayner Roberts, in Girl Reporter, Book Smugglers Publishing.

Best Short Story

  • “A Pearl Beyond Price”, Janeen Webb in Cthulhu Deep Down-Under Vol 1, IFWG Publishing Australia.

Best Collected Work

  • Ecopunk!, Cat Sparks and Liz Grzyb, Ticonderoga Publications.

Best Artwork

  • cover art, Lewis Morley, for Matters Arising from the Identification of the Body, Peggy Bright Books.

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • SF Commentary, edited by Bruce Gillespie.

Best Fan Writer

  • Stephanie Lai, for writing at No Award.

Best Fan Artist

  • Shauna O’Meara, for “How to Bee” (based on the novel by Bren MacDibble).

Best New Talent

  • Stephanie Lai

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • Ambelin Kwaymullina, for “Reflecting on Indigenous Worlds, Indigenous Futurisms and Artificial Intelligence”, Twelfth Planet Press.

[Thanks to Mark Hepworth for the story.]

3 thoughts on “2018 Ditmar Awards

  1. The only one I’ve read is “Girl Reporter”, and that’s a very fun story. Congrats to all.

  2. See, this is how you do it – announce winners on Easter/Passover directly! No messing around with nominations on this particular weekend. 😉

    More seriously: Congrats to all the winners! 😀

    [Caffeine han’t kicked in yet; I started typing my home webmail password into File770.com’s e-mail field to comment. Gah.]

Comments are closed.