2018 Endeavour Award Finalists and Judges

Five novels written by writers from the Pacific Northwest are finalists for the 20th annual Endeavour Award. The Award comes with an honorarium of $1,000 and will be announced November 9 at OryCon in Portland, Oregon.

The finalists are:

  • Cross Town by Cedar Rapid, IA, writer Loren W. Cooper (the book was written and accepted for publication while Mr. Cooper lived in the Pacific Northwest), Xeno Books;
  • The Cold Eye by Kenmore, WA, writer Laura Anne Gilman, Saga Press;
  • Ironfoot by Victoria, BC, writer Dave Duncan, Night Shade Books;
  • Portal of 1000 Worlds also by Victoria, BC, writer by Dave Duncan, Open Road Integrated Media; and
  • A Secret History of Witches by Port Townsend, WA, Louisa Morgan, Orbit US.

The Endeavour Award honors a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest. All entries are read and scored by seven readers randomly selected from a panel of preliminary readers. The five highest scoring books then go to three final
judges, who are all professional writers or editors from outside of the Pacific Northwest.

The judges for the 2018 Award are Elizabeth Bear, James Patrick Kelly, and Christopher Rowe.

  • Elizabeth Bear was born on the same day as Frodo and Bilbo Baggins, but in a different year. She is the Hugo, Sturgeon, Locus, and Campbell Award winning author of 30 novels and over a hundred short stories, and her hobbies of rock climbing, archery, kayaking, and horseback riding have led more than one person to accuse her of prepping for a portal fantasy adventure.
  • James Patrick Kelly has won the Hugo, Nebula and Locus awards. His most recent books are the 2018 collection, The Promise of Space, and the 2017 novel, Mother Go. He writes a column for Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine and teaches creative writing at the Stonecoast Master of Fine Arts Program at the University of Southern Maine. He lives in Nottingham, NH.
  • Christopher Rowe has been a finalist for the Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Awards. He is the author of a recent collection of short fiction, Telling the Map, and with his wife, Gwenda Bond, writes the Supernormal Sleuthing Service series of middle grade novels. He lives in Lexington, Kentucky.


To be eligible for next year’s Endeavour Award the book — either a novel or a single-author collection of stories — must be either science fiction or fantasy. The majority of the book must have been written, and the book accepted for publication, while the author was living in the Pacific Northwest (Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Alaska, British Columbia, or the Yukon.)

The deadline to enter books published during 2018 is January 31, 2019: This deadline is two weeks earlier than it has been in the past.

Full information on entering the Award is available on the Endeavour website. Click on Entry Form in the left-hand column for a fill-in PDF of the form.

The Endeavour Award is sponsored by Oregon Science Fiction Conventions, Inc. (OSFCI), a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation.

[Thanks to Jim Fiscus for the story.]

2 thoughts on “2018 Endeavour Award Finalists and Judges

Comments are closed.