2018 Macavity Awards

Mystery Readers International announced the winners of the 2018 Macavity Awards during the opening ceremonies at Bouchercon in St Petersburg, FL on September 6.

The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in five categories.

Best Novel

  • Anthony Horowitz: Magpie Murders (Harper)

Best First Novel

  • Sheena Kamal: The Lost Ones (Wm. Morrow)

Best Nonfiction

  • Martin Edwards: The Story of Classic Crime in 100 Books (Poisoned Pen/British Library)

Best Short Story

  • Paul D. Marks: “Windward” (Coast to Coast: Private Eyes from Sea to Shining Sea, Down & Out Books)

Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Novel

  • Rhys Bowen: In Farleigh Field (Lake Union Publishing)