2018 Sidewise Awards

The winners of the 2018 Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were announced October 15.

Sidewise Award for Best Long Form Alternate History

  • Mary Robinette Kowal, The Calculating Stars (Tor Books)
Mary Robinette Kowal Lady Astronaut Calculating Stars Jamie Stafford-Hill using figures by Gregory Manchess
Mary Robinette Kowal Lady Astronaut Calculating Stars

Sidewise Award for Best Short Form Alternate History

  • Oscar (Xiu) Ramirez & Emmanuel Valtierra, Codex Valtierra

Special Achievement Sidewise Award

  • Eric Flint

for his ongoing encouragement of the genre of alternate history through his support of the community and writers developed around his 1632 series In 2000, Eric Flint published the novel 1632. Following the publication of the novel, Flint has encouraged an extensive on-line community to expand on his vision and explore the ramifications of alternate history through discussion and publication of fiction and non-fiction that builds off his original work, resulting in dozens of stories and novels and helping to launch the careers of many authors.

The judges for the 2018 awards included Karen Hellekson, Matt Mitrovich, Jim Rittenhouse, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were first given in 1996. The award takes its name from Murray Leinster’s 1934 short story “Sidewise in Time,” in which a strange storm causes portions of Earth to swap places with their analogs from other timelines.

[Thanks to Steven H Silver and Mark Hepworth for the story.]

4 thoughts on “2018 Sidewise Awards

  1. Congratulations to Kowal for The Calculating Stars winning! 😀 That was a great book, as was the sequel.

  2. I knew of, and read things from, the 1632 online community long before I ever heard of AO3.

  3. Pingback: AMAZING NEWS FROM FANDOM: 10-20-2019 - Amazing Stories

  4. Pingback: Ganadores premios Sidewise 2018 – Fantástica – Ficción

Comments are closed.