2018 Tomorrow Prize

At LitFest Pasadena on May 20, celebrity guests read the five Tomorrow Prize finalists’ stories, and the first, second, and third place winners were announced.

The Tomorrow Prize for short science fiction was created by Sci-Fest LA in 2014 “to identify and encourage the next generation of science fiction writing talent.”


  • 1ST PLACE: Addiction by Kalila Papanikolas
  • 2ND PLACE: The Demiurge by Bry LeBerthon
  • 3RD PLACE: Relinquished Cities by Arin Krausz
  • FINALIST: Microcosm by Chelsea See
  • FINALIST: Midas by Audrey Wang


  • Espera by Naomi Beach
  • 2084 by Kate Crowell
  • The Vault by Matthew David
  • Desperate Measures by Jake DeRiseis
  • Trash-O-Synthesis by Charlotte Feit-Leichman & Nia Yick
  • Curing of an Illness by Carlos Gonzalez
  • The Silo by Alexander Hwang
  • Edos by Julia Li
  • War of the Clouds by Haley Pak
  • Gray by Subin Yi

At the same event, the inaugural Green Feather Award was presented by Los Angeles Audubon. The award “recognizes an outstanding science fiction short story by a teen author that centers on overcoming today’s environmental challenges. The winning story will highlight the importance of ecology and biodiversity.” The winner also was read aloud on stage by a celebrity guest.


  • Let Her Play by Aisling Murran (Polytechnic High School)

[Thanks to Rosalind Helfand for the story.]

1 thought on “2018 Tomorrow Prize

  1. Pingback: 2019 Tomorrow Prize for LA Student SF Writers Now Taking Entries | File 770

Comments are closed.