2019 Endeavour Award Winner

Blood Orbit, a novel by Kingston, WA, writer K.R. Richardson (Pyr Books) won the 2019 Endeavour Award on November 8 at Orycon in Portland, OR.  The Award comes with an honorarium of $1,000.00 and a glass plaque by artist Ashley Harper.

The Endeavour Award honors a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest.  All entries are read and scored by seven readers randomly selected from a panel of preliminary readers.  The five highest scoring books then go to three final judges, who are all professional writers or editors from outside of the Pacific Northwest.

The other finalists were:

  • The Girl in the Green Silk Gown by Seanan McGuire, Daw Books;
  • Irontown Blues by John Varley, Ace Books;
  • Moonshine by Jasmine Gower, Angry Robot; and
  • Trial by Treason by Dave Duncan, Night Shade Books.

The judges for the 2019 Award were Kij Johnson, Linda Nagata, and Bud Sparhawk.

Award Eligibility for 2020: To be eligible for next year’s Endeavour Award the book — either a novel or a single-author collection of stories — must be either science fiction or fantasy.  The majority of the book must have been written, and the book accepted for publication, while the author was living in the Pacific Northwest (Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Alaska, British Columbia, or the Yukon.)

The deadline to enter books published during 2019 is January 31, 2020: THIS DEADLINE IS TWO WEEKS EARLIER THAN IT HAS BEEN IN THE PAST.

Full information on entering the Award is available on the Endeavour Web site: www.osfci.org/endeavour.

The Endeavour Award is sponsored by Oregon Science Fiction Conventions, Inc. (OSFCI), a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation.

[Thanks to Jim Fiscus for the story.]