2019 Nommo Awards

At the opening ceremony of the Ake Festival on Thursday, October 24, the winners of the 2019 Nommo Awards for Speculative Fiction by Africans were announced.

The awards are given by the African Speculative Fiction Society, an organization of professional and semiprofessional African writers, editors, publishers, graphic artists and film makers founded in 2016.

The Nommos were presented for the first time in 2017. The awards are named for twins from Dogon cosmology who take a variety of forms, including appearing on land as fish, walking on their tails.

NOVEL – The Ilube Award

  • Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi


  • The Firebird by Nerine Dorman


  • “The Witching Hour” by Ekpeki Oghenechovwe Donald


  • Shuri by Nnedi Okorafor (Writer), Leonardo Romero (Artist)

[Via Locus Online.]