2019 Sir Julius Vogel Award Winners

The Sir Julius Vogel Award

The Sir Julius Vogel Award

The winners of the 2019 Sir Julius Vogel Awards were announced Sunday night at GeyserCon, New Zealand’s 40th National Science Fiction and Fantasy Convention, in Rotorua. The Vogels, which recognize excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror by New Zealanders, were nominated and voted on by members of SFFANZ (the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand Inc.) and Geysercon.


Best Novel

  • Into the Sounds by Lee Murray (Severed Press)

Best Youth Novel

  • Lutapolii – White Dragon of the South by Deryn Pittar (Junction Publishing)

Best Novella / Novelette

  • The Martian Job by M. Darusha Wehm (Choice of Games)

Best Short Story

  • “Girls Who do not Drown” by A.C. Buchanan (Apex Magazine, December 2018)

Best Collected Work

  • Te Korero Ahi Ka, edited by Grace Bridges, Lee Murray and Aaron Compton (SpecFicNZ)

Best Professional Artwork

  • Cover for The Baker Thief by Laya Rose (The Kraken Collective)

Best Professional Production / Publication

  • Black Archive #15 by John Toon (Obverse Books)

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • Wellington Paranormal, directed by Jermaine Clement and Jackie van Beek (New Zealand Documentary Board)


Best Fan Artwork

  • The Thirteenth Doctor by Laya Rose

Best Fan Production / Publication

  • Star Trek in the Park – The Trouble with Tribbles (Enterprise Entertainment)


Best New Talent

  • Kura Carpenter (The Kingfisher’s Debt)

[Thanks to Jo Van Ekeren for the story.]

3 thoughts on “2019 Sir Julius Vogel Award Winners

Comments are closed.