2020 CrimeFest Awards Nominees

The 2020 CrimeFest Awards nominees were announced June 2.

The awards would have been presented during CrimeFest in Bristol, U.K. this weekend, but the event was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic. The winners now will be announced online July 7.

Specsavers Crime Fiction Debut Award (for a crime novel by a debut author first published in the British Isles in 2019)

  • Fiona Erskine for The Chemical Detective (Point Blank)
  • Katja Ivar for Evil Things (Bitter Lemon Press)
  • Carolyn Kirby for The Conviction of Cora Burns (No Exit Press)
  • Alex Michaelides for The Silent Patient (Orion Fiction)
  • Laura Shepherd-Robinson for Blood & Sugar (Mantle)
  • Holly Watt for To The Lions (Raven Books

Audible Sounds of Crime Award (for the best unabridged crime audiobook)

  • Kate Atkinson for Big Sky, read by Jason Isaacs (Penguin Random House Audio)
  • Oyinkan Braithwaite for My Sister, the Serial Killer, read by Weruche Opia (W.F. Howes)
  • Alex Callister for Winter Dark, read by Ell Potter (Audibe Studios)
  • Lee Child for Blue Moon, read by Jeff Harding (Penguin Random House Audio)
  • Lisa Jewell for The Family Upstairs, read by Tamaryn Payne, Bea Holland & Dominic Thorburn (Penguin Random House Audio)
  • T.M. Logan for The Holiday, read by Laura Kirman (Zaffre)
  • Peter May for The Man with No Face, read by Peter Forbes (Quercus, Fiction)
  • Alex Michaelides for The Silent Patient, read by Louise Brealey & Jack Hawkins (Orion)

Courtesy of sponsor Audible UK, the winning author and audiobook reader(s) share the £1,000 prize equally and each receives a Bristol Blue Glass commemorative award.

eDunnit Award (“for the best crime fiction e-book first published in both hardcopy and in electronic format”)

  • Helen FitzGerald for Worst Case Scenario (Orenda Books)
  • Sarah Hilary for Never Be Broken (Headline)
  • Andrew Taylor for The King’s Evil (HarperFiction)
  • L.C. Tyler for The Maltese Herring (Allison & Busby)
  • Holly Watt for To The Lions (Raven Books)
  • Don Winslow for The Border (HarperFiction)

Last Laugh Award (for the best humorous crime novel)

  • William Boyle for A Friend is a Gift you Give Yourself (No Exit Press)
  • Hannah Dennison for Tidings of Death at Honeychurch Hall (Constable)
  • Helen FitzGerald for Worst Case Scenario (Orenda Books)
  • Christopher Fowler for Bryant & May The Lonely Hour (Transworld)
  • Antti Tuomainen for Little Siberia (Orenda Books)
  • L.C. Tyler for The Maltese Herring (Allison & Busby)

H.R.F. Keating Award (for the best biographical or critical book related to crime fiction)

  • Ursula Buchan for Beyond The Thirty-Nine Steps (Bloomsbury Publishing)
  • John Curran for The Hooded Gunman (HarperCollins Crime Club)
  • Barry Forshaw for Crime Fiction: A Reader’s Guide (No Exit Press)

Best Crime Novel for Children (aged 8-12)

  • P.G. Bell for The Great Brain Robbery (Usborne Publishing)
  • Vivian French for The Steam Whistle Theatre Company (Walker Books)
  • Sophie Green for Potkin and Stubbs (Bonnier Books)
  • A.M. Howell for The Garden of Lost Secrets (Usborne Publishing)
  • Simon Lelic for The Haven (Hodder Children’s Books)
  • Thomas Taylor for Malamander (Walker Books)

Best Crime Novel for Young Adults (aged 12-16)

  • Kathryn Evans for Beauty Sleep (Usborne Publishing)
  • John Grisham for Theodore Boone: The Accomplice (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Samuel J. Halpin for The Peculiar Peggs of Riddling Woods (Usborne Publishing)
  • Simon Mason for Hey Sherlock! (David Fickling Books)
  • Tom Pollock for Heartstream (Walker Books)
  • Nikesh Shukla for The Boxer (Hodder Children’s Books)

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.