2020 DeepSouthCon Awards

Winners of three traditional DeepSouthCon awards were announced November 21 during the virtual 2020 DSC/SFC CONference put on by the CONtraflow committee.

Les Johnson

The Phoenix Award is given to the professional (writer, editor or artist) who has done the most for Southern Fandom. This year’s honoree is Les Johnson, physicist, author, and NASA technologist. His books include the 2018 novel, Mission to Methone, and the 2018 nonfiction book, co-authored with Joe Meany, Graphene: The Superstrong, Superthin, and Superversatile Material That Will Revolutionize the World. His latest anthology, Stellaris: People of the Stars, coedited with Robert Hampson, was published in 2019. He is a Principal Investigator of two interplanetary solar sail space missions for NASA.

The Rebel Award is awarded to the fan who has done the most for Southern Fandom. This year it went to a trio of winners: Raymond Boudreau, Jessica Styons, and Rebecca Smith

The facetious Rubble Award, given to the individual who has done the most TO Southern Fandom, went to COVID-19.

[Thanks to Randy Boyd Cleary for the story.]

6 thoughts on “2020 DeepSouthCon Awards

  1. I just wonder what the Rubble Award ceremony will be like. Will they deliver the award to the COVID ward at the hearest hospital? Though I do hope everybody is keeping their distance and wearing masks.

  2. Cora Buhlert: I think the Rubble Award is more an abstract than a physical award. In the past few years the winners have included “The Force of Gravity for taking away Ned Brooks so recently” (2015) and “the broken sidewalk responsible for Claude Mills’ (the con chair) broken leg” (2018).

Comments are closed.