2020 Eugie Award Finalists

Eugie Foster

The shortlist for the 2020 Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction was revealed on June 4.

The Eugie Award “honors stories that are irreplaceable, that inspire, enlighten, and entertain.”

We will be looking for stories that are beautiful, thoughtful, and passionate, and change us and the field. The recipient is a story that is unique and will become essential to speculative fiction readers.

The finalists for the 2020 Eugie Award are:

  • A Civilization Dreams of Absolutely Nothing” by Thoraiya Dyer (Analog Science Fiction and Fact)
  • For He Can Creep” by Siobhan Carroll (Tor.com)
  • The House Wins in the End” by L Chan (The Dark)
  • Love in the Time of Immuno-Sharing” by Andy Dudak (Analog Science Fiction and Fact)
  • Postlude to the Afternoon of a Faun” by Jerome Stueart (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)

This is a juried award, that begins with a longlist of nominations coming from publishers and editors, supplemented by choices of select readers. A selection committee of spec fiction fans picks the finalists. The winner is chosen by a panel of judges, and receives a plaque and a $1000 prize. All finalists receive a pin.  

This annual award is ordinarily presented at Dragon Con. Starting with the 2020, they will add a video presentation of the award online, along with a reading of a section of each finalist.

[Thanks to Matthew M. Foster for the story.]