2021 Annie Awards

The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood, today announced the winners of its 48th Annual Annie Awards™ recognizing the year’s best in the field of animation.

Two different toon features came into the virtual ceremony tied with 10 nominations apiece, Disney/Pixar’s Soul and Apple Original Films/Gkids’ Wolfwalkers.  Soul went home with 7 wins, and Wolfwalkers with 5.

The Annie Awards™ cover 31 categories. These juried Awards were also be presented during the ceremony, “honoring unparalleled achievement and exceptional contributions to animation” —

The Winsor McCay Award for career contributions to the art of animation

  • Willie Ito
  • Sue Nichols (posthumous)
  • Bruce Smith

The June Foray Award for significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation

  • Animator and art director, Daisuke “Dice” Tsutsumi

The Ub Iwerks Award for technical advancement that has made a significant impact on the art and industry of animation

  • Epic Games for its Unreal Engine

The Special Achievement Award recognizing the unique and significant impact on the art and industry of animation

  • Howard, the documentary about lyricist and storyteller, the late Howard Ashman

The Annie Awards™ were created in 1972 by veteran voice talent June Foray.

The full list of winners follows.

Best Feature

  • Soul

Best Indie Feature

  • Wolfwalkers

Best Special Production

  • The Snail and the Whale

Best Short Subject

  • Souvenir Souvenir

Best Sponsored

  • There’s a Monster in My Kitchen

Best TV/Media – Preschool

  • The Adventures of Paddington, Episode: Paddington Digs a Tunnel to Peru

Best TV/Media – Children

  • Hilda, Episode: Chapter 9: The Deerfox

Best TV/Media – General Audience

  • Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal, Episode: Coven Of The Damned

Best Student Film

  • La Bestia

Best FX for TV/Media

  • Jurassic World: Camp Cretaceous, Episode: Welcome to Jurassic World

Best FX for Feature

  • Soul

Best Character Animation – TV/Media

  • Hilda

Best Character Animation – Feature

  • Soul

Best Character Animation – Live Action

  • The Mandalorian

Best Character Animation – Video Game

  • Marvels Spider-Man Miles Morales

Best Character Design – TV/Media

  • Amphibia, Episode: The Shut-In!

Best Character Design – Feature

  • Wolfwalkers

Best Direction – TV/Media

  • Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal, Episode: Plague Of Madness

Best Direction – Feature

  • Wolfwalkers

Best Music – TV/Media

  • Star Wars: The Clone Wars, Episode: Victory and Death

Best Music – Feature

  • Soul

Best Production Design – TV/Media

  • Shoom’s Odyssey

Best Production Design – Feature

  • Wolfwalkers

Best Storyboarding – TV/Media

  • Looney Tunes Cartoons

Best Storyboarding – Feature

  • Soul

Best Voice Acting – TV/Media

  • Tales of Arcadia: Wizards, David Bradley (Merlin)

Best Voice Acting – Feature

  • Wolfwalkers, Eva Whittaker (Mebh Óg MacTíre)

Best Writing – TV/Media

  • Big Mouth, Episode: The New Me

Best Writing – Feature

  • Soul

Best Editorial – TV/Media

  • Hilda: Chapter 9: The Deerfox

Best Editorial – Feature

  • Soul