2021 Aurora Awards

The 2021 Aurora Awards winners were announced during a virtual awards ceremony hosted by Can-con on October 16.

The awards are voted by members of the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association, for Science Fiction / Fantasy works done in 2020 by Canadians. 

Best Novel

  • Mexican Gothic, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Random House Publishing Group

Best Young Adult Novel

  • Flights of Marigold, Susan Forest, Laksa Media Groups Inc.

Best Novelette/Novella

  • Tool Use by the Humans of Danzhai County“, Derek Künsken, Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine, July/Aug

Best Short Story

  • All Cats Go to Valhalla“, Chadwick Ginther, Swashbuckling Cats: Nine Lives on the Seven Seas, Tyche Books

Best Graphic Novel/Comic

  • It Never Rains, Kari Maaren, webcomic

Best Poem/Song

  •  “Nidhog“, Jo Walton, The Book of Dragons, Harper Voyager

Best Related Work

  • On Spec Magazine, Diane L. Walton, Managing Editor, The Copper Pig Writers Society

Best Visual Presentation

  • The Umbrella Academy, Steve Blackman, Netflix

Best Artist

  • Samantha M. Beiko, cover for Flights of the Marigold, Laska Media Group

Best Fan Writing and Publication

  • Polar Borealis, Issues #13 to #16, edited by R. Graeme Cameron

Best Fan Related Work

  • When Words Collide, Randy McCharles, chair, online festival

Inductees to the Hall of Fame

  • Jean-Louis Trudel
  • Stan Hyde
  • Monica Hughes (Accepted on Monica’s behalf by her daughter Adrienne Hughes)

The Hall of Fame trophy isn’t given out, but instead travels from one Canvention to the next (as well as other locations) for display. The Inductees are given a plaque suitable for hanging with the image of the Trophy engraved on it, their names, and the year.

1 thought on “2021 Aurora Awards

Comments are closed.