2021 Macavity Awards

Mystery Readers International announced the winners of the 2021 Macavity Awards on August 25.

The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in five categories.

Best Mystery Novel:

  • S.A. Cosby: Blacktop Wasteland (Flatiron Books)

Best First Mystery:

  • David Heska Wanbli Weiden: Winter Counts (Ecco)

Best Mystery Short Story:

  • Gabriel Valjan: “Elysian Fields” (California Schemin’: The 2020 Bouchercon Anthology, edited by Art Taylor; Wildside Press)

Best Mystery Critical/Biographical:

  • Sheila Mitchell: H.R.F. Keating: A Life of Crime (Level Best Books)

Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Mystery:

  • James Ziskin: Turn to Stone (Seventh Street Books)

[Thanks to Cora Buhlert for the story.]