2021 Manly Wade Wellman Award Shortlist

The 2021 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy shortlist was revealed June 28 by the North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation. The 2021 award also covers novels published in 2020.

The eight titles were selected by a jury from the 24-title longlist.

  • Natania Barron, Queen of None (Vernacular Books)
  • Emily Colin, Sword of the Seven Sins (Blue Crow Books)
  • Tracy Deonn, Legendborn (Margaret K. McElderry Books)
  • T. Frohock, Carved from Stone and Dream (Harper Voyager)
  • A.J. Hartley, Impervious (Falstaff Books)
  • Whitney Hill, Elemental (Benu Media)
  • T. Kingfisher, Paladin’s Grace (Argyll Productions)
  • Jay Posey, Every Sky a Grave (Skybound Books)

The winner(s) will be announced at ConGregate 7 / DeepSouthCon 59 on Saturday, July 10 as part of an awards ceremony also including the Phoenix Award and Rebel Award.

The Manly Wade Wellman Award was founded in 2013 to recognize outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors. The 2021 award covers novels published in 2020. The award is named for long-time North Carolina author Manly Wade Wellman with the permission of his estate.

1 thought on “2021 Manly Wade Wellman Award Shortlist

  1. Congratulations to our very own Wombat and to the other finalists as well!

Comments are closed.