2022 Darrell Awards Finalist Works

The works associated with the already-announced finalists for the 2022 Darrell Awards have been revealed.

The awards support Midsouth Literacy by recognizing the best published Science Fiction, Fantasy and/or Horror in Short Story, Novella, Novel, Young Adult & Other Media formats. They are named in honor of the memory of Dr. Darrell C. Richardson, who was instrumental in getting the Memphis SF Association off the ground.


  • The Dragons of Styx by John E. Siers
  • The Ferryman by John E. Siers
  • The Girl Who Had No Shadow by John and Victoria Babb


  • Madam & The Map: A Journey in Five Movements by Sheree Renee Thomas (in Nine Bar Blues collection)
  • Shadows Before Sunrise by Melissa Olthoff (in It Takes All Kinds anthology)


  • “Dead Man’s Hand” by Phyllis Appleby (in Lies Along the Mississippi anthology)
  • “Five-Six-Seven-Eight” by Jim Paavola (in Lies Along the Mississippi anthology)
  • “The Orisha’s Handmaiden” by Angelyn Sherrod (in Lies Along the Mississippi anthology)
  • “Never Alone” by Angelyn Sherrod (in Lies Along the Mississippi anthology)
  • “Shanequa’s Blues — Or Another Shotgun Lullaby” by Sheree Renée Thomas (in Nine Bar Blues collection)
  • “Well Being” by Elden Lee

There were no nominations received for Young Adult or Other Media works.

As previously announced, Sheree Renée Thomas is the 2022 winner of the Dal Coger Memorial Hall of Fame.

2 thoughts on “2022 Darrell Awards Finalist Works

Comments are closed.