2022 Manning Award Nominees

Comic-Con International has announced the 2022 nominees for the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award.

The Manning Award is presented to a comics artist who, early in his or her career, shows a superior knowledge and ability in the art of creating comics. It is named for Russ Manning, the artist best known for his work on the Tarzan and Star Wars newspaper strips and the Magnus, Robot Fighter comic book. Russ was a popular guest at the San Diego convention in the 1970s.

The 2022 nominees are:

  • Matthew Clarke, co-creator/artist of Hardears (Abrams ComicArts Megascope)
  • Emma Kubert, co-creator/artist of Inblot (Image)
  • Meredith Laxton, artist of MPLS Sound (Life Drawn by Humanoids)
  • Luana Vecchio, artist of Bolero (Image)
  • Audra Winslow, writer/artist of Jo & Rus (KaBOOM!)

 The nominees were chosen by a panel consisting of board and committee members of Comic-Con International and a San Diego comics retailer. The winner will be chosen by past Manning award winners and Russ Manning assistants. The recipient will be announced during the Eisner Awards ceremony on July 22 at Comic-Con in San Diego.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.