First Fandom Awards
2022 Nominees

First Fandom has announced the candidates for the organization’s three annual awards. Members have until April 15 to vote, and the winners will be announced at Chicon8, this year’s Worldcon in Chicago.

Here are the fans up for the awards along with brief excerpts from their candidate bios.


The First Fandom Hall of Fame, created in 1963, is a prestigious achievement award given to a living recipient who has made significant contributions to Science Fiction throughout their lifetime.

Candidate: George W. Price

Price (b.1929) was introduced to SF in 1947. He became active in fandom in the early[1]1950s and was a member of the Philadelphia SF Society. His first convention was TASFIC. In 1953, he joined the University of Chicago SF Club, and was later elected president. Beginning in 1965, he began hosting monthly SF parties at his home which continued for 20 years. He became an early partner in Advent: Publishers. A technical writer, Army veteran, college graduate and chemical engineer with a life-long interest in limericks and puns, he has been an active fan for more than 70 years.


The Posthumous Hall of Fame was created in 1994 to acknowledge people in Science Fiction who should have, but did not, receive that type of recognition during their lifetimes.


Murphy Anderson

Anderson (1926-2015), a member of First Fandom, was a SF fan and pro most of his life. He began working as a staff artist for Fiction House in New York, where he worked on the publisher’s SF pulps and comic books. In 1947 he took over the art on the Buck Rogers daily syndicated newspaper comic strip. In 1950, he contributed to the first issue of the Ziff-Davis comic book Amazing Adventures. At DC he became famous for his work on popular SF characters, including Captain Comet, the Atomic Knights, Superman, etc. As an inker, he designed the costume for Adam Strange, who became one of DC’s most popular SF characters. He received many genre awards during his career, including several Alley Awards and the Inkpot Award for his comic book work. In 1988, he was inducted into the Jack Kirby Hall of Fame

August Derleth

Derleth (1909-1971) was an internationally respected fan, author, editor, correspondent, poet, lecturer and publisher of SF as well as a writer of mystery, horror fiction, regional fiction and natural history. In addition, he was a 1938 Guggenheim Fellow and a co[1]founder in 1939 of Arkham House. In 1948, he was elected president of the Associated Fantasy Publishers at Torcon (6th Worldcon). Derleth wrote more than 150 short stories and more than 100 books during his lifetime.

Gene Nigra

Nigra (1940-2016) was one of the earliest major collectors of the artwork of Virgil Finlay and Hannes Bok. Along with Gerry de la Ree, Gene wrote some of the earliest black & white art books on Finlay and Bok that helped increase appreciation of these important science fiction illustrators.


Sam Moskowitz Archive Award was created in 1998 to recognize not only someone who has assembled a world-class collection but also what has actually been done with it.

Candidate: Doug Ellis and Deb Fulton

Doug and Deb run one of the most important pulp conventions that focuses on art, pulps and films covering the past history of the field. They are major art and pulp collectors who share their holdings freely with other fans. They also have written important art books that help perpetuate the memory of past artists. Doug is the author of dozens of genre essays and, with Deb, has edited and published Pulp Vault for more than 20 years.

1 thought on “First Fandom Awards
2022 Nominees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.