First Herbert Award Winner Announced

The Troop by Nick Cutter, a pseudonym of Craig Davidson, has won the inaugural James Herbert Award for Horror Writing.

Open to horror novels written in English and published in the U.K., the annual prize celebrates the life and career of author James Herbert, who died in March 2013.

Davidson received £2,000 and a commemorative statuette after he was announced the winner in London on April 1.

The award is administered by Pan Macmillan, the Serendip Foundation, and the estate of James Herbert. Its panel of judges includes horror writers Ramsey Campbell and Sarah Pinborough, Total Film editor Rosie Fletcher, Arthur C. Clarke Award Director Tom Hunter, scholar Dr. Tony Venezia, and James Herbert’s daughter, marketer Kerry Herbert.

Kerry Herbert, quoted by The Bookseller, said: “This is the darkest of tales where human evil meets an insatiable force of nature to wreak havoc on kids, a scout troop, no less. What could be better? My father would have chuckled in his chair; his fans will love it. And you’ll never go camping again. The Troop is a brilliant and terrifying classic that I am proud to champion as the first winner of the James Herbert Award for Horror Writing – it’s now one of my favourite books.”

[Thanks to Andrew Porter for the story.]

Discover more from File 770

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

One thought on “First Herbert Award Winner Announced

  1. Glad to see that Professor Cutter has kept busy since his death at the hands of his former wife Helen. We all miss him terribly, especially Jenny / Claudia,

Comments are closed.